Loving Out Loud: Bold Color…..

It comes as no surprise that I like color on my furniture.  My living room has turquoise chairs, my guest room has a suzani covered chair and my music room ….well that is just chocked full of color.  So it wasn’t shocking that over the last few weeks I have been drawn to furniture with bold saturated colors, in particular purples and pinks.  I think it has to do with my visit to the Z Gallerie show room last month.  When you entered the show room, you were greeted by their Pierre sofa covered  in a beautiful and rich velvet in the most intense shade of aubergine I have seen. 

It was beautiful.  I was giddy.  I proceeded to molest the sofa in front of their executive staff.  It was  special and magical moment for all involved.   In any case, here are my top three favorite uses of bold color on furniture so far……

Clockwise: Pierre Sofa, Z Gallerie; The Duchess Chair, Society Social; Junior Templeton Chair, Jonathan Adler.

I am envisioning the Pierre Sofa paired with pink chairs for a bit of “sorority girl glam” – imagine Legally Blonde meets good taste.  The Duchess chairs from Society Social bring a touch of history while the Junior Templeton from Jonathan Adler adds a nice modern punch. 

Throw in a wall painted in the lightest shade of robin egg’s blue or a lavender and you have a the makings for a room that is bold but not in your face.

Okay, I am off to finish AutoCAD homework and to continue to bask in the glow of all this bold color.  So tell me, are you hankering for any bold hues this time of year?

Check out my Facebook and Pinterest pages as well as my Twitter feed.

6 thoughts on “Loving Out Loud: Bold Color…..

  1. I am! I have been putting off using a fantastic raspberry. I am going to have to start slow and redo a little side table, or mud room table to be exact. Little table, fancy trim, has wheels. Raspberry will be heavenly. You have such a great eye for color.

  2. Hi Courtney
    I have this exact same couch in the pewter/grey shade and would like to find a pair of turquoise or peacock blue chairs to join it… any ideas where I could find some? I feel like I have searched everywhere ; /

  3. If possible, my husband would like to stay under $1500 for a pair. He prefers comfy. I however, have been looking at styles such as a the Louis chairs, high backs/ wing backs. I’m in love love love with z galleries eddie chair but my hubbie is not going for 2… But that’s also the correct color I’m looking for.

  4. I LOVE color! Too much white or beige gets me down. I am an earthy girl in my decor choices with bold, oranges (curtains), yellows (accents), and bright greens (throughout apartment). As for as my wardrobe, I gravitate towards raspberry, teals, purples and a little orange/yellow thrown in for good measure.
    I plan on sharing my room at my mom’s on the blog soon. East Indian inspired = tons of delicious color.

Leave a Reply

