My Selfish Act: New Chair For Guest Room……

The Partner thinks I am abnormal — well I am but not for the reasons he thinks.  He thinks I have an issue with sharing, which I will readily admit that I do.  It has been a struggle with my personality since I was little.  I tend to hoard things I like and don’t share — potato chips, cookies, clothes, etc…..if I like it, I don’t want anyone else to have it.

So when I happened up this cane chair a few months ago (okay to keep it real, I found it in February), it was cute but nothing special.  I would have gladly shared it with anyone who was willing to take it off my hands for the $28 I paid for it…..

As I said, it sat in my garage for months with a tarp on it, collecting dust and clearly no takers.  So in June I finally said “Enough” (actually The Partner threatened to take it to the curb and put a “free” sign on it) and decided to do something with said chair.  I toyed around with a variety of ideas, but eventually settled on recovering it with a handmade rug I picked up from Anthropologie for $40.

The rug itself was a gift from the upholstery angels.  Made in Uzbekistan, the front side consisted of colorful hand embroidered butterflies in an abstract form while the back was simple off-white duck cloth.  Fortunately, for me, the rug was constructed in such a way that a simple cross stitch was used to hold the two sides together, so I simply used a seam ripper (my teeth) and pulled the pieces apart.  So what I ended up with was two large 4×6 pieces of cloth – just enough to do the entire chair for under $50.

Since I was using a thick & unconventional material to cover the chair, I opted to use a professional upholstery person.  While I think I could have done the job myself but between the fabric selection, sewing, welting, tufting and staining, I felt it was worth the added investment to hire a professional especially in light that the fabric (aka rug) didn’t have any additional yardage so there was no room for error.

I waited 2 weeks and got a call from Rene that the chair was ready.  I went to his place with every intention of placing the chair on eBay or Craigslist to sell.  But then I fell in love………

This is where my inability to share kicked in — the chair was WAY cuter than I anticipated and I didn’t want to share it with the world.  It was MINE!  MINE!!!!  So I did what any respectable designer does….I went home and promptly went through my house trying to figure out where it would go.  Lucky for me, we had an Ikea Poang chair in the guest room that I never loved – actually I hated it from Day One but The Partner loved it.

Fortunately for me (and the chair), The Partner was away visiting family, so out went his beloved Poang and in went this beauty……


Not that all was lost…I sold the Poang chair for a tidy sum and used the money to buy a few new accessories for the room including a great brass tray and stretching the monkey painting I blogged about here.

While not my intention, by placing the new chair in the guest room it gave the room a needed jolt of personality.  Now the room is a mix of clashing  patterns (in a good way) that make it fun but still relaxing.  A few more tweaks and I will take some new pictures of the revised room.

So tell me….what do you think of my “selfish” act of keeping the chair for myself…


Would you have done the same?

Okay have a GREAT long weekend and take some time to relax!

Follow me on Facebook and Twitter.

26 thoughts on “My Selfish Act: New Chair For Guest Room……

  1. Completely adore it. And adore the new spunky attitude of your guest room. I only found you a little bit ago and fell instantly in love with your blog and think it’s only mildly freaky that you did a post about your guest room the day after I started a mini series about guest rooms on mine. And also makes me wish I had found you sooner!

  2. WONDER FUL pattern….makes a lovely chair. I don’t blame you for being selfish. It’s so much prettier than that ugly Poang chair.

  3. I’m the same way! I redid a campaign end table last week and it hasn’t moved on Craigslist – maybe because I’m sending out very strong “I really want to keep this for myself” vibes. Your chair is amazing!

  4. Love the chair, it looks fanTAStic! And I actually use the same strategy when moving furniture/painting/buying new things/getting rid of ugly old things — I wait until the partner is out of town.🙂

  5. I too have cane chair just like that. I am a bit more fortunate in that the previous owner did reupholster it before it came into my life. My problem is that because it’s good; I’m not as motivated to make it great. I’m now much more motivated though after seeing your new and improved beauty. Thanks!

  6. Why not keep things? I think the end result of all this hunting around and redoing is to make our homes nicer, right? I hope he’s not made about you selling the other chair. Men are funny. Ann

  7. So cute, wow! We aren’t that creative with upholstery but we sure do love things from Anthropologie!🙂
    Emily
    -eStyleChat.com

  8. Pingback: Master Bedroom Update: Yup, It’s Another Chair…… | Courtney Out Loud

  9. Pingback: Loving Out Loud: Bold Color….. | Courtney Out Loud

  10. Pingback: ABC Carpet & Home Revisited….. | Courtney Out Loud

Leave a Reply

