Vignette Week: Halloween Tablescape….

My last three posts have been pretty deep and self-reflecting, so I thought I would lighten it and début my Halloween tablescape.  If you have seen my other tablescapes you are aware that I tend to build backstories to help me figure out a plan of attack and this table proved to be no different.

My imaginary client for this project was Rachel.  An English major in college, she has been able to carve out a nice living for herself editing cookbooks for a medium-sized publishing company.  Having spent a better portion of her career making sure that others have the tools to learn how to cook, surprisingly Rachel had never thrown a dinner party.  Rather than tackle a  high pressure (and high stakes) holiday like Thanksgiving or Christmas, Rachel opted to throw a formal dinner for Halloween.  She called me to help her create the perfect backdrop to her first ever dinner party.

As with all my projects, I like discuss what the client envisions and if there is a theme they want to incorporate.  Aside from wanting a formal dinner, Rachel was open to suggestions.  When faced with situations like this, I typically turn to asking questions about hobbies, recent travels or collections the client may have to gain insight.  True to her English-major roots, Rachel is a lover of all the great authors including Edgar Allan Poe.  Upon hearing this, I immediately latched to the idea of creating a tablescape loosely based on Poe’s poem “The Raven”. 

I dreamed of Rachel’s table as a place where the Raven of Poe’s poem has gone after tormenting the tortured narrator of the poem.  My vision of Halloween was more gothic than gory with a strong interplay between masculine and feminine pieces.    I stuck to a fairly neutral palette of black, white and grey with the only color coming from the centerpiece.  Texture,whimsy and a touch of femininity were added through the liberal use of feathers on the table including in the centerpiece.  Hefty goblets and masculine flatware were used to balance the frilly nature of the feathers.  In the end, I got a table that I think is more haunting than haunted house. 

With that said, I present my vision of a raven inspired Halloween……..




Tomorrow, I will be breaking down the table and next week doing a tutorial on how I made the feather chargers.  This is my first Halloween tablescape, so I would love to hear your feedback!

Still craving more tablescape goodness?  Check out my Facebook page for additional photos and Twitter feed for updates.

Linking Up to….

The Shabby Creek Cottage Link Party

Hooking up with HoH Link Party

Between Naps on the Porch Tablescape Thursdays Link Party

The CSI Project Halloween Link Party

28 thoughts on “Vignette Week: Halloween Tablescape….

  1. I’ve seen a lot of Halloween tablescapes…but this one is totally amazing!!! I love your take on it…the gargoyles and feathers are genius…perfect for Halloween, but not the traditional avenue to take! The flower centerpiece is perfection, too! Can’t wait for the tutorial for the chargers…(c:

  2. Oh my goodness, this is a fabulous Halloween table…I ♥♥♥ everything about it! Draping the chairs with cheesecloth is a great idea. The black stemware are one of things that makes the table along with the gargoyle…thanks for sharing.

  3. This. is. fabulous! Please disclose where you “purchased” the beautiful and fun items in the tablescape. One of the most creative TS for Halloween I’ve seen in a long time!

  4. Courtney, this is amazing! As an English major, you know I was loving the fun story you spun as the backdrop for this haunting tablescape. I love the feather chargers and the tattered “slip covers” for the chairs. The “stemware” is fabulous! This is so creative! I know you had a frightfully good time putting it together. Just glad this wasn’t a table based on The Tell-Tale Heart. 😉

  5. How fun! This is elegant but spooky and demonic in a cool Halloween way! The feathers are great and the chairs and webbing in the background give the table a great atmosphere. Beautiful china, and all the gargoyles are fantastic! Love it!

  6. Hi, Courtney! This is my first time visiting your blog. I’ve never seen you on Tablescape Thursdays, even though I try very hard each week to visit each and every post. I don’t know how I missed you! 😦 Glad to have found you this week, though, for this VERY cool Halloween tablescape! I’m a big fan of ghoulish glam, too, so this really caught my eye! Everything is so well thought out! The cheesecloth on the chairs…genius!!! I have those same gargoyles and ghouls, and I’m looking forward to using them soon. They really ARE quite spooky!! I am head over heels with the china you selected. It’s perfect for this table! Your backstory was fun, too…very clever! I enjoyed visiting and hope to see you back here on TT again soon! I see you’re a WordPress user, too. I’ve been using it for a little over a year and, although it has its challenges & limitations, I have grown to like it. I just recently figured out how to get rid of the “no-reply” thing when I commented on people’s blogs. It only took me about 8 months to figure that out! 😦 Have you been having trouble with the new format they recently introduced? It was a bit of a nightmare there for awhile! Have a wonderful weekend!

  7. Ooooh, pretty! And scary. And creepy. Perfect Halloween tablescape combo : ) I love the cloth over the chairs! And all of the black. And the plates! Ok, ok I love it all. Job well done! Now invite me over for a creepy cocktail!

  8. i love how you created a backstory for your tablescape and followed it all the way through to the “T”! You flatware is also gorgeous–beautiful job, Courtney! You should leave use it to throw a real shindig since Halloween is just around the corner. 🙂

    Also, thanks for the link to the chandelier–so crazy that we would both find the same fixture! If you need a source for the shades, just let me know!

  9. Oh my gosh I love it! So sexy and moody, I love the all dark palette!! Now I have the convince the hubs we need to throw a halloween party! Gorgeous!

  10. Pingback: Halloween Tablescape Breakdown….. | Courtney Out Loud

  11. You are so talented Courtney! I wish Lane and I had the time and energy to still have dinner parties so I could hire you.

  12. Pingback: Winners of the Halloween Extravaganza Challenge!

  13. Pingback: Wallpaper Happy Dance… | Courtney Out Loud

  14. Pingback: More From the Dabble Magazine Halloween Tablescape Shoot…. | Courtney Out Loud

  15. Pingback: Inspiration for a Purple and Black Gothic Style Wedding « Glitz & Bells

Leave a comment