A Little Something I Picked Up…..Moroccan Tea Table

I had no business strolling through the thrift shop.  Laundry was piled up.  Homework sat unfinished.  Dishes in the sink had officially become a bio-hazard.  But I needed a break and the thrift shop around the corner provided the perfect quick get away for my frazzled nerves.

So I popped in and browsed.  Nothing struck my fancy but as I was exiting, the shop keeper was amassing a pile of odds and ends.  Evidently, these were the bits and pieces that were damaged, broken or had lost their mate.  I instantly fell in love with a brass Moroccan tea table that was missing its base.  Worn, pitted and tarnished, the tea table screamed “TAKE ME HOME” ….. well at least to me.  And at the price of $10, I couldn’t pass it up.

A little Brasso, steel wool and some elbow grease cleaned this beauty right up.  I bought a plate stand at Michael’s and found a home for it in our guest bedroom.

Homework is still here.  Laundry sits unfolded.  And fortunately, The Partner attacked the pile of dishes.  So while my weekend was as productive as I would have liked, I did make the house a bit more of a home…and honestly, isn’t that a full-time job in itself?

Did you finish all your weekend plans?

Follow me on Facebook and Twitter.

8 thoughts on “A Little Something I Picked Up…..Moroccan Tea Table

  1. The problem with weekend plans is that we put TOO much on our plates. Therefore, Sunday nights have me feeling guilt and exhaustion, and then I’m bustling on Monday mornings. Which actually isn’t the case today, since I’m reading blogs instead of working…. oh, it’s a vicious cycle.

    Love your new accessory!

  2. I am insanely jealous as I have been looking for that very thing to top a thrift shop pedestal I found not too long ago. Yours is divine. They don’t have another do they? Do you share your thrift shop sources?
    Camille

  3. So gorgeous! What a great find! A quick stroll through the thrift shop, and you can unearth the greatest pieces! Love it.
    xo E + J

Leave a Reply

