Recipe: “Detox” Juice …

I don’t like Halloween.  It isn’t because of the commercialization of the holiday.  It isn’t because of its religious (or non-religious) roots.  It even isn’t because I don’t like dressing up in costumes.  I don’t like Halloween because it’s typically about now that I come face to face with the remains of a 5 pound bag of candy.  I typically have will power for about a week but it’s just about now that the siren song of a miniature Snickers or Reese Cup is too much for me to bear.

I am positive Halloween is determined to give me diabetes…..

So aside from forcing The Partner to take the candy to work for his co-workers I will be sipping on this delicious “detox” juice.  By no means do I think that sipping on this delicious concoction will purge me of all my sugary wrong doings but it will at least make me feel better about my sinfully delicious (and tooth decaying) past……

busybee-detox-smoothie-crop

2 medium carrots
1 lemon – peeled
1″ piece of ginger
1 stalk of celery
1/2 an apple
2 tbsp unfiltered apple cider vinegar
1 tsp organic bee pollen*

Blend with around a cup of water and enjoy!

*If you are prone to allergies you may want to omit the bee pollen as it could cause an allergic reaction.

Now great!  I may be back to normal just in time to gorge myself at Thanksgiving.

[photo & recipe credit: whole food lab]

Check me out on PinterestTwitter and Insta.gram for more musings on design, food and just plain randomness. You can also find me at my online shop for Joy & Revelry.

1 thought on “Recipe: “Detox” Juice …

  1. I’m glad to know that this is considered a detox drink as I have something very similar almost every morning. Spinach, blueberries, ginger, carrot, celery, cucumber, matcha green tea powder and brown rice protein powder. Does this mean I can gorge myself the rest of the time!!!? 😉 I like how you think!

Leave a comment