Faucet “Rorschach with Gessi …

I spent alot of time alone as a child, so I made up games to amuse myself and one of these was something I called “find a face” where I would look at ordinary objects and force myself to see a pattern in it.  Clouds became marching elephants.  Tree trunks hid amused faces.  Mail boxes morphed into robots.  As I grew older, I couldn’t quite shake the habit and still to this day, I find myself spotting figures, faces and animals where none should exist. It’s a handy tick to have when stuck in a long line or bored out your skull having run out of reading material while on a plane.

However, this quirk does pop up in odd situations like when looking at faucets.  Gessi, the maker of high-end faucets, fixtures and accessories for the kitchen and bath, was kind enough to be a sponsor of BlogTour London and invited the attendees to review their products.  What started out as a small Italian workshop in 1992 has morphed into an international powerhouse brand that produces sleek, modern and extremely beautiful goods.  As I perused their wares, I noticed many of the company’s contemporary designs had either a curvilinear feel to them that almost felt organic or a super regimented structure that harked to machinery and engineering – both equally engaging and satisfying in my book.

As I dug deeper into Gessi’s portfolio, my quirk did arise and I found myself seeing similarities that may or may not have been intentional…..

Goccia

The Goccia reminded me of The Birth of Venus by Botticelli — the liquid, almost fluid quality of the nozzle reminds me of water droplets.  In my mind’s eye, I can see the Goccia rising from the stillness of the sea to an awaiting customer excited to give their bath a dose of drama.

Incline

I am not sure anyone would think Erector set when looking at the Incline faucet but I do.  The faucet begs to be placed into a rough and tumble setting to juxtapose all its modern sleekness.  It is asking to be built upon and it’s why I think it would be a stunning addition to a traditional kitchen or the much need tension in a space full of warm natural elements.

Energy

And I am positive you will think I am mad for seeing a flamingo but honestly, you don’t see the graceful swoop of the neck in the Energy faucet?  Tall, lean and slightly bent (probably how folks will describe me after reading this post), the Energy has a quiet grace like the flamingo — it’s totally fine standing out on its own for others to admire.

So there you have it – I see water, a toy and a bird in Gessi faucets.  Crazy?  Perhaps but I dare you take a look at their portfolio and not let your mind soar for a moment.  I promise you with Gessi’s ability for merging technology and design, you just may be seeing some strange and wacky things yourself!

[photos: Gessi]

Check me out on PinterestTwitter and Insta.gram for more musings on design, food and just plain randomness. You can also find me at my online shop for Joy & Revelry.

disclaimer:  gessi was a sponsor of blogtour london 2013 but all thoughts and opinions are mine.

Leave a Reply

