Guest Vignette: Ten June

I have a treat for y’all today.  My friend and fellow Centsational Girl contributor, Michelle of Ten June is here today to participate in my ongoing “Guest Vignette” series where I ask fellow bloggers to photograph and describe a meaningful vignette in their home.  Michelle’s home is warm and cozy – the culmination of her approachable design style and keen eye for easy but high-impact DIY projects.  Today she shares with us a vignette in her Atlanta living room……

Hello hello! The name’s Michelle and I’m the author of the DIY design blog, Ten June. As all of you know, my friend Courtney here is the king of all things “detail”… his vignettes and tablescapes are so inspiring! With that said, I’m excited that he asked me to stop by and share the little details of my favorite vignette from my house.

I’m sharing a space from my living room. Seated next to a wall filled with bright white plantation shutters (that I just repainted!) are two slipper chairs from Target. I love the khaki colored basketweave fabric- it’s the perfect neutral color for the space. In between the chairs is a set of painted nesting tables that I thrifted from Craigslist. These guys were a score for $20! I painted the tables a glossy navy blue, which brings in the bold color that I used to paint my adjacent dining room walls. The nesting tables are topped with my grandmother’s vintage milk glass lamp and some of my favorite design books.

I love this bright space next to the windows- it’s the perfect place to curl up with a good book or to relax and watch some television. I love changing around the books and pillows to switch the look of the area up every once in a while. It’s definitely one of my favorite spots in my home!

I love that Michelle was able to incorporate her Grandmother’s milk glass lamp into her vignette.  It is the perfect foil to modern and linear details in the vignette plus it adds that bit of nostalgia that I believe every house needs to make them a home.  Thank you so much for sharing Michelle!

So do you have a special accessory or furniture in your home that you inherited?  Leave a comment and tell me about it!

Check me out on Facebook and Pinterest as well as Twitter.

4 thoughts on “Guest Vignette: Ten June

  1. I love that vignette; it looks like a great spot to sit and peruse a few glossies with a coffee in hand. I love Michelle’s style – so cozy and inviting. I have quite a few inherited pieces but my favorite is an old brass cash register that came from hubs grandfather’s lumbar yard. It lives on our wine bar and it’s quite a conversation piece.

  2. I love incorporating family pieces no matter how simple they are. It is so wonderful to have a story behind the decor in your home, in my opinion.

  3. I try to have at least one something old family type item in each room in my house. Some if my favs; an old RCA radio of my dads in the family room, a 100 yr old rocker handend down from my Grandma in the bonus room, a picture of my dad when he was 15 with Babe Ruth in the den. Family means everything and this is a great way to share

  4. Pingback: Guest Vignette: Adventures of an Almost 40 Year Old Intern… | Courtney Out Loud

Leave a comment