Thanksgiving Tablescape 2011

I honestly can’t believe that Thanksgiving is in TWO WEEKS!  Good Grief Charlie Brown — where has all the time gone?  Like many of you, I am scrambling trying to keep ahead of the holiday onslaught.  Fortunately for me, creating my holiday tablescapes is a welcome respite from the crazy world.

It’s a bit crazy to think that I did my first tablescape for the blog over a year ago!  Even funnier (to me at least) is that Thanksgiving 2010 was my first attempt at creating a tablescape.  Prior to that, I just threw plates on the table and focused primarily on cooking.  Looking back at that first tablescape, I have learned so much in regards to presentation, texture, color and judging from how dark the pictures are, how to use my camera correctly.

So this time around, there is no back story or imaginary client.  I created this table solely for me catering to my love of deep, rich colors.  I wanted to create a Thanksgiving table that was truly representative of the wealth I have gained this year and am tremendously thankful for – my friends, family, the blog and a new-found career path that I dearly love.

I envisioned a table that was filled and overflowing with all the things that nature has to offer.  That thought transformed itself into a modern take on the cornucopia/horn-of-plenty as a centerpiece.  I mixed gourds, pumpkins, herbs, flowers, fruit and succulents to create a centerpiece that would anchor the rest of the tablescape.  I then turned to the colors within the centerpiece to dictate the remainder of the table — royal purples, spicy oranges and golden amber with hits of shiny brass and crystal finished off the table.

I think the table is the perfect example of how to pull traditional elements but not get bogged down in tradition.  It is a table I love and am proud to share with you…….

Next week I will break down the table and explain how I created the centerpiece.

Don’t miss one of your last chances to win a free cocktail dress from Shabby Apple!  The give away closes on Monday so don’t miss out!

Check out my Facebook and Pinterest pages as well as my Twitter.

Have a GREAT weekend!

Link Parties:

Tatertots & Jello Weekend Wrap-Up Party

Nifty Thrifty Things, Nifty Thrifty Sunday Link Party

Marvelously Messy, A Marvelous Mess #39 Link Party

Be Different, Act Normal, Show & Tell Saturday Link Party

Funky Junk Interiors, SNS Link Party 107

Under the Table & Dreaming, Sunday Showcase Party

C.R.A.F.T., Making Mondays Marvelous 

Dittle Dattle, Amaze Me Mondays

Not Just a Housewife, Show Me What You Got #49

Stories from A 2 Z, Tips & Tutorials

Tip Junkie, Homemade Projects

A Bowl Full of Lemons, Tuesday Link Party

My Uncommon Slice of Suburbia, Tuesday’s Treasures

Between Naps on the Porch, Tablescape Thursdays

29 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Tablescape 2011

    • Sarah – this be the blog post me lady! Can you believe it — 127 shots, narrowed down to 40 then cut to 15 with 4 alternates. It was like doing the Miss World pageant but for pictures! And thank you….I am not amazing — the flowers did all the work for me 🙂

    • Cassie – thank you! Well I try to best myself each time I do one of these tables — I just think “Would Eddie Ross and Martha Stewart approve if they walked in right now for dinner…” Most times I say “no”, drink more wine and throw more flowers at it 🙂 It’s what I call my “Courtney Method” of tablescaping. 🙂

    • Thanks my love. Sadly, I am already elbow deep in trying to get things in order for Christmas. Who knew that there were only 24 hours in a day?!? Fortunately with my meth and crack addiction, I can stay up for hours!

      (disclaimer): I do not have a meth or crack addiction. However, I do love me some Coke Zero and have a mild obsession with Sunkist jelly beans…….

  1. Ha ha – l love Coke Zero too! I love this tablescape and I especially love that your table sits right in front of those gorgeous glass doors. The whole setting is just breathtaking. Now, what time should I be there for dinner? I’ll bring the wine! I’m a malbec kinda girl – sound good? 😉

  2. Courtney, when you compare this year’s Thanksgiving tablescape to the one in 2010, it just shows how quickly you’ve grown in leaps and bounds as a designer. I’m so incredibly proud of you.

  3. Pingback: Thanksgiving Table Breakdown | Courtney Out Loud

  4. Pingback: Thanksgiving Treats from around the Blogoshpere « Just About Home

  5. Oh, yeah, Courtney…this is the meaning of “bountiful.” So rich with color and texture and verve. It draws the eye in and keeps it locked in place. Beautiful use of everything here, especially your choice of flowers in the centerpiece. The plum-purple is a wonderful color to use, and I love the purple corn. GORGEOUS wreath, too!!! This is a dramatically sophisticated Thanksgiving table. I like sophisticated tables. They have a way of making the slouchiest distant uncle sit up straight and use his napkin. 🙂 I am charged with creating two tables for invited guests this year, so I can certainly appreciate the time and effort and thought that went into yours. For this, we can be thankful. Way to go, and Happy Thanksgiving!!!!!!!

Leave a comment