Recipe: Quick Cranberry Sauce

There are three things I can’t stand:  racism, homophobia and canned cranberry sauce.  Something about the fact that it takes the shape of the can weirds me out.  Bleh!  As a kid, I would pile my plate full with everything else at Thanksgiving in the hopes of avoiding the dreaded sauce, yet my Grandma always found a way to wedge a quivering sliver of it on my plate.  I would build a green bean moat around it and go about my way enjoying the rest of my meal knowing that it would be meeting a quick deal under my napkin and eventually the trash can.

It wasn’t until a few years ago that I was introduced to the whole concept of fresh cranberry sauce.  It totally blew my mind – BOOM!  Tangy, sweet and fresh tasting this quick cranberry sauce is the perfect palette awakener during a meal that can be bogged down in heavy foods.  Even better is that after the meal it done, try the sauce on a turkey sandwich in lieu of sandwich spread.  Totally delish and since it’s made from fresh fruit, I like to think it counteracts the two slices of pie I will most likely have on Thanksgiving……

Quick Cranberry SauceQuick Cranberry Sauce – makes 2 cups

Ingredients

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup water
  • 4 cups (1 12-oz package) fresh or frozen cranberries
  • Zest from half an orange

Directions

Wash and pick over cranberries. In a saucepan bring to a boil water and sugar, stirring to dissolve sugar. Add cranberries, return to a boil. Reduce heat, simmer for 10 minutes or until cranberries burst.

Stir in orange zest and remove from heat. Cool completely at room temperature and refrigerate.*

* Don’t worry if the sauce looks runny. It will thicken as it cools.

For more quick and easy dishes, check out my Recipe section…..

[photo credit:  photo by adza//recipe & food styling: courtney lake]

Check me out on PinterestTwitter and Insta.gram for more musings on design, food and just plain randomness. You can also find me at my online shop for Joy & Revelry.

One thought on “Recipe: Quick Cranberry Sauce

Leave a Reply

