Loving Out Loud: Lee Broom’s Crystal Bulb ….

I can’t say I am fully recouped from my whirlwind trip to the London Design Festival thanks to my hosts at Modenus and their fabulous sponsors but what I lack in sleep I am more than making up with inspiration.  My want/lust files are overflowing from all the manufacturers, vendors and artisans I was introduced to by walking the show floors as well as the one-on-one time that Modenus ensured we had with select brands.

The group was lucky enough to be led on a tour of Lee Broom’s showroom (a full post on this to follow shortly) by the designer himself ……

Lee Broom profile4

Lee Broom is one of the UK’s leading product and interior designers overseeing his own line of high-end lighting and furnishings as well as collaborations with a bevy of high-profile clients including Christian Louboutin’s new in-house boutique at Harrods.  Deeply talented and deeply humble, Broom was a gracious host to me and my fellow Blog Tour London participants.  However, it was the story behind on of his most popular items, the Crystal Bulb that made me develop a teeny, tiny designer crush on him and a big crush on the fabulous lighting element …..

bulb_with_fitting_clear_1

Lee said that the “light bulb” moment for the product happened because he wanted to find a way to give gifts to his friends and close colleagues.  Knowing it was impractical (and highly expensive) to give away other pieces of his line, he conceptualized, prototyped and produced the Crystal Bulb in 6 weeks for its début in Milan.  What had been a little idea generated amazing buzz resulting in ELLE Decoration awarding him their design award in 2012 for the bulb and a cult like following for his wares.

Lee Broom Crystal BulbHaving seen the bulbs in person, they are truly beautiful.  The full-lead crystal bulb is hand cut with a traditional crystal pattern and fits any standard E27 lamp, wall or ceiling fitting.  In the showroom, the bulbs were hung as multi-level groups which were stunning but were also shown flush mounted as ceiling fixtures and hung solo as the perfect drop pendant.  The bulbs are available alone or with a brushed brass pendant fitting and with a gold silk flex cable.  I envision using the bulbs as pendants in a powder room or marching single file above a modern kitchen island.

I am smitten with the Crystal Bulb and may or may not have ordered two to play with in my home.  Alas, I think that this  may become a pattern with all of my wonderful findings from my trip to London.  Now I just have to find the money to pay for them!

[pictures courtesy of Lee Broom/A+R Store]

Check me out on PinterestTwitter and Insta.gram for more musings on design, food and just plain randomness. You can also find me at my online shop for Joy & Revelry.

One thought on “Loving Out Loud: Lee Broom’s Crystal Bulb ….

Leave a Reply

