Fall Organizing With SheKnows.com ….

courtneylake-kirstenjulia-58One of the strongest impressions I have growing up with siblings were their Legos.  They were EVERYWHERE it seemed…..the stairs, the dining table, under the couch, simply where ever you looked you were bound to find a Lego.  I thought of them as a child’s version of a land mind….I still have the indentation on the heel from where I stepped on one late at night going to use the bathroom so when I said “impression” I wasn’t kidding!

So this month when it came to writing my SheKnows.com column, I opted to focus on giving tips and advice on how an active family can get their homes ready for the school season and beyond…….

courtneylake-kirstenjulia-40I cover tips on how to create a “take-off/landing strip” in your home, organizing your home office and easy ways to incorporate children’s toys into your decor.  Not only was it a fun column to write, I had to chance to shoot in a home I have long admired.  I have been enamored with the light filled home of Oakland-based architect Mike Pitler for some time, but then I am bias…..he built our home as well!  But nonetheless, it as a treat to have Mike, Rachel and their two adorable boys open their home to me and my photographer to shoot.

And if you must know, I did step on a Lego or two during shooting🙂  Some things never change…….

[photography: kirsten tamme//styling: courtney lake]

Feel free to read my other SheKnows.com articles or partake in the all the other “crazy” that I do around the web via  PinterestTwitter and Insta.gram.  You can also find me at my online shop for Joy & Revelry.

Leave a Reply

