Tush to Cush(ion) …..

Do you ever start to see connections where none previously existed?  No, I am not talking conspiracy theory ….. but being struck by the similarities between disparate things.  For example, I have been on the hunt for a pair of printed pants to wear on vacation.  Odd thing to want for vacation, but I am not necessarily the “normal” kinda guy.  In any case, I have been eyeing a pair of Zara print pants but noticed that they print reminds me of a pair of pillows I currently have in my online shop ……

Ethnic Print

I love making a strong print the focal point of an outfit or a room.  These Tiko Black Pillows would be great on a Belgian linen sofa in flax or soft white.

After noticing that first pairing, I dug a little deeper and found this great pair of geometric capri pants that reminded me of Karoo Pillow…..

Lacy Love

Both patterns remind me of a lace overlay – one being modern and the other more traditional.  But either way, the crisp combo of black and white is the perfect place to drop in a fun color like they did with the model’s mint shoe.  I would use a pair Karoo as part of a bedding scheme.  Mixed in with a long bolster in a pastel color with white bedding, it would be a show stopper!

Ikat Inspiration

Of course, I couldn’t leave out one of my favorite prints, ikat!  I know some may be tired of the print, but honestly, ikat is my paisley or stripe.  It is the perfect way to inject some color and life into a space in a sophisticated yet fun way.  Fortunately, most ikats have a variety of colors in their pattern, so it’s always easy to pull coordinating colors for a design concept.  As I said, I think ikat is a “formal pattern” so I tend to use the Ikat Print Pillow in a masculine but luxe setting — think cerused oak and grey walls.

Funny how searching for pants can lead you down such a weird and awesome road just proving how intertwined fashion and home decor has become!  Okay, have a fantastic weekend and be safe!

Check me out on PinterestFacebookTwitter and Insta.gram for more musings on design, food and just plain randomness.  You can also find me at my online shop for Joy & Revelry.

Leave a Reply

