Pen to Paper: Media Console…..

Sometimes you get inspiration from the least likely of places.  I have been working with a client on his San Francisco condo for about a year now, slowly adding pieces that we think represent his urban rustic aesthetic.  He loves the mix of wood and metals but craves a touch of color in subtle ways.  In his living room, we had to contend with his beloved red overstuffed sleeper sofa.  It isn’t my first choice for seating but sometimes you have to play the hand you are dealt.  He then informed me that he wanted a place to house all of his electronics, stand alone speakers and his large flat screen TV.

So I was tasked with providing storage for his electronics and TV, incorporate color and tie in his sofa along with the more rustic elements in the space.  Common sense told me that we needed to do something custom to fit all the requirements.   I immediately set out seeking inspiration for the piece.  During my research, I ran across this image from Mondrian ……

mondrian22

It was instantly struck by the colors and the clean lines.  It led me to do a quick sketch of this…….

Media Console Sketch_Oct23

I worked with the fantastic team at Oak and Wood to bring my drawing to reality.  After a few back and forth’s with the client and myself, we agreed on this design……

HawthorneMedia_V3See the Mondrian inspiration?  We all agreed that we could leave the speakers out of the final piece as the client would probably downsize.  However, we did create space for all his electronics in the “tower” to the left, creating a false bottom so we could place a power cord and only snake out a single plug.  The television will sit on top and the drawers will hide all those cords and things that we all seem to have.

A few months later and I could not be happier with the final piece…..

Hawthorne Media Console

It has all the elements we needed to tie the room together but still hold true to the urban vibe the client desired.  It’s a beautiful piece and I am not saying that just because I designed it!  It is going to be the jewel in the living room and I can’t wait to get the space done!

Need design services?  Feel free to email me to inquire!  Okay I am off to a photo shoot – details to come shortly!  Have a GREAT weekend……

Check me out on PinterestFacebookTwitter and Insta.gram for more musings on design, food and just plain randomness.  You can also find me at my online shop for Joy & Revelry.  

2 thoughts on “Pen to Paper: Media Console…..

Leave a Reply

