Play Date: Pantone MyColor Paint Party….

Some folks would qualify me as a “DIY blogger” but the dirty truth is that I am far from handy. I am clumsy, forgetful and at times slightly dangerous with an industrial stapler (I once stapled my sleeve to a cabinet….) so when the peeps at Pantone asked if I wanted to participate in their MyColor Paint Party, I got scared, then excited and finally scared again. What was I going to tackle for my paint project? Fortunately, my garage is a banquet (graveyard) of future projects and a quick survey found me staring at this beauty…..

Dresser Before

Sexy right? Our neighbors had kindly placed this on the curb for some helpless DIY-obsessed person to pick up and cart home. Needless to say they didn’t quite expect said person to be me, but nonetheless this small beside table was the perfect candidate for my Pantone make over. I ended up using Trekking Green (a deep green hue), Skylight (a bright airy blue that leans towards white in bright light) and Medieval Blue (a dark blue not as deep as navy). Armed with my trio of colors, I set off for my process of transformation and discovery.

But first, I had to do this……

Paint Stripper 2

Yeah – this puppy had more layers on it than an Olsen Twin during a NYC winter. I counted no less than SIX layers of paint! At one point I swore that this thing was made entirely of paint, but eventually I got down to the wood……

IMG_8236

A scrub down with some steel wool to remove any residue as well as a few quick patches and I was finally ready to paint. Truth be told, the total elapsed time for this portion of the project was about 1 full day since I used a “non-toxic” paint stripper rather than the stuff that the mafia uses to dissolve bodies. If you opted to go with the more harsh strippers, you could have stripped this in about a third of the time I think.

Now it’s time for painting! I chose to paint the insides of the drawers with the Skylight…..

Inside Skylight

I am a “more is more” type person, so I went with three coats for the inside. I am pretty sure if I had opted to prime the piece, I could have went with only two, but I am lazy and really wanted to test the paint’s claim to block stains (it does FYI…).

As the inside of the drawers were drying, I started on the outside of the piece with the Trekking Green. Three coats later, the piece was finished and left to dry/cure for a day. Once it had fully cured, I swapped out the glass knobs for some brass rings……

IMG_8300Doesn’t the brass and the green look pretty damn awesome?

And now here is the dresser in all its new glory……

Dresser Done

It’s nestled in the corner of the house and now serves as my “command center” for housing all my fabric swatches and cuttings. It’s so nice having a place for what was being housed in plastic bins and one very over burdened basket……

IMG_6950

IMG_8309

But wait — there is more! There is a little surprise at the bottom of each of the drawers…..

Stencil Stamp

I took a touch of the Medieval Blue and mixed it with the Trekking Green to do a stencil at the bottom of each drawer. It is a little touch but it makes me smile when it peeks out from beneath the fabric cuttings.

So now my panic and fear have been replaced with pride and useable storage — a fair trade-off I think! And now here is your chance to join in on the fun with MyColor Inspired by Pantone. You could win a sample of MyColor Inspired by Pantone by commenting here about how you’d use MyColor paint in your next DIY project. For a second chance to win, tweet your project ideas to@MYCOLORPAINTS using hashtag #PassItOn. And, if you “like” the MYCOLOR INSPIRED BY PANTONE FACEBOOK page, you can share your project ideas there for one more chance to win. MyColor is also on Instagram @mycolorpaints. What are you waiting for? Keep cracking and make those comments “colorful”! (couldn’t resist a pun…sorry. it’s a sickness…).

Be sure to visit out the other awesome bloggers participating in the Paint Party:

Thursday: Joi from NUESTRA VIDA DULCE

Friday: Claire from HIGH GLOSS BLUE

And don’t forget to check out the projects from Nicole of Sketch42 and Angela of The Painted House from earlier in the week.

[photography & styling: courtney lake]

Check me out on Pinterest, Facebook, Twitter and Insta.gram for more musings on design, food and just plain randomness…

8 thoughts on “Play Date: Pantone MyColor Paint Party….

  1. Hey you are really very inspiring!
    I am totally in love wid ur work & i am glad dat i joined such mesmerising personality.
    Keep it up…
    Stay blessed.
    tc cheers!!
    Best regards= From ur sister Mrs Rehan.🙂

  2. Can I just say that I love this project? Those pulls are divine!
    I’ve got a couple of furniture projects I’m contemplating painting – one is a hutch with a rather decrepit finish – hope it turns out as lovely as yours!

  3. Pingback: Round Brass Pulls…. | Courtney Out Loud

  4. yes! this is beautiful. you’re so patient to do the project right, getting all that old paint off before putting your color on. too often i just slap another coat on top. anyway, i’d love to try the pantone paint on a little side table i picked up on the side of the road. i have big plans for this baby!

Leave a Reply

