House of Fifty Article….

A few months ago, I jokingly put out a tweet to the editor-and-chief of House of Fifty magazine asking to be included in their next issue. While I didn’t quite make the next issue, Janell and her team were kind enough to include my article on how to make a rental a home appears in this month’s issue….

I am super pleased and excited to be given the opportunity and could not be happier.  Thank you Janell!  I also want to give a shout out to Dayka Robinson whose beautiful work accompanies my article and so perfectly illustrates that you can turn any place into a “home”.

So tell  me, what did you do to turn your first apartment into your first “home”?

Share your thoughts , comments and pictures with me on Facebook, Pinterest, Twitter and now Instagram(@CourtneyOutLoud).

8 thoughts on “House of Fifty Article….

  1. Thanks for sharing this with your readers today Courtney, a pleasure to work with you and how did I decorate my first apartment…ugh, you wouldn’t want to see pictures!

  2. Whoa, baby!!! Congratulations!!!! I am so proud of you! Dang……you’re an even bigger superstar than I previously suspected!🙂 I’ve never had an apartment. Y’know…here in the Midwest we consider 2500 sq. ft. to be a “starter home.”🙂 My stupid 1st husband and I bought our first house, though, in 1977. I can still remember my kitchen all dressed in white ducks. Yup…white ducks and mushrooms were big decorating designs back then. How very, very, very, very, very, very sad!

    • Alycia – white ducks and mushrooms. That is something my sister….that is something. My Grammy had a blue velvet couch that smelled of Taboo cologne and Virginia Slims. We inherited that couch when we moved into our place and I loved it until it fell apart.

  3. Congratulations on the feature! See what a little bravery can get you?😉

    I also love the picture of Dayka’s work, I really like her style.
    And to answer your question, I try to make my house a home by filling it with things I love and that reflect my personality, and the personality of my two guys (:

  4. Uh, who’s on the late show here?? Dayka is. I’m sorry I’m just now seeing your post, but that’s for the love, Courtney! I’m happy I could help you with your article…and congrats to you for your first feature, as well!🙂

    Happy New Year
    Xo,
    Dayka

Leave a Reply

