Reject Pile ….

Hope everyone had  a fabulous holiday (and for those lucky few with an extended holiday, I am jealous..)!  The Partner and I exercised our freedoms by doing absolutely nothing – we stayed in, didn’t barbecue and at one found ourselves at a $9.99 all you could eat dim sum buffet (for future reference, this is not recommended).

As the day progressed, I found myself looking at my Sansome Project and tweaking the furniture selections.  As archaic as it sounds, I keep my furniture pics in a Powerpoint presentation for each project.  Each room gets a slide and then I keep a final slide open to house “cast-offs”.  I know some people love the new pin boards, but I find there interfaces a tad cumbersome when I need to get things done quickly.  What struck me was that how much I liked the general feel of the “reject pile” than what I was pulling for the actual living room….

1/2/3/4/5/6/7

The above is actually the “reject pile” from the project.  For some reason, the client either rejected the piece, the dimensions were off or it just didn’t work with the pieces that we had already.  However, what I did like about this pile of was its discord – it had a feeling that things were selected over time; nice mishmash of things the client was given and purchased.  In comparison, my other attempts felt lack the informality and ease that was exuding from this “pile of stuff”.   So it is back to the drawing board with a renewed focus and hopefully this time around, I will nail it.

But isn’t it funny where you find inspiration sometimes?  So tell me what is the oddest thing that has ever inspired you?

Check me out on Facebook, Pinterest, Twitter and now Instagram(@CourtneyOutLoud).

2 thoughts on “Reject Pile ….

  1. I think Powerpoint is a great tool, use what works for you, I love it as well🙂
    I also often like the reject pile lol🙂 Happy Thursday!
    ~E

Leave a Reply

