Pillows, Flowers & the Weekend….

If you are anything like me, you tend to gravitate towards fancy things.  Shoes, fabrics, cars – honestly if you can slap the prefix “expensive” on it, there is a strongly likelihood I have had an improper crush on it at one time or another.  Don’t get me wrong, I love me some inexpensive stuff but often a certain level of detail, craftsmanship and quality are put into items with a higher price tag.

For example, you can find some great inexpensive and mid-range fabrics on the market.  However, they don’t have the weight, stitching or luxe feel in the hand as a higher priced fabric like a JAB velvet or a Romo linen.  So imagine my surprise when I ran across these two pillows at Crate and Barrel and its hipper sister CB2….

The large striped pillow is from CB2 and is made from a really beautiful light weight open weave linen.  The pillow cover and the feather insert total $29+ tax.  In turn, the cut velvet pillow is from Crate and Barrel and is beautiful in person.  The pattern reminds me of something from Beacon Hill or Romo and the colors are rich and muted.  At $39 for the insert and cover, it is a steal.  A quick calculation reminded me that I rarely am able to find a 24×24 feather insert for that price, let alone a pillow cover, so I bought 3.

Yes, I know paying $200 for 6 pillows may seem excessive to some, but a yard of the fabric alone would be around that of and then factor in labor plus the cost of the insert and you are now looking at spending that much on one pillow potentially.

So using “new shopping math”, I took my well-earned savings and picked up some fresh flowers at the grocery store….

People bag on carnations but I think they are the workhorse of the cut flower world.  Keep them monochromatic and add in some floral berries and you can create a pretty but modern center piece for less than $10.

I am off to repack since it looks like I am making a quick trip home to Michigan next week.  So tell me, what is your “secret place” for stellar cheap finds?

Have a great weekend!

Check me out on Facebook, Pinterest, Twitter and now Instagram (@CourtneyOutLoud).

One thought on “Pillows, Flowers & the Weekend….

  1. I’m not sure why carnations fell out of favor, either, Courtney. I like them very, very much and use them en masse whenever I want something really fragrant and pretty. They are my favorite go-to flower in winter! I like the way you mixed them with the hypericum berries here. Very cool!!!!

Leave a Reply

