Pattern Play….

Last night, I found myself at 10:30pm playing around with different fabric samples I pulled a few days ago for a client.  They are a couple in the Castro area of San Francisco who live on the second floor a converted Victorian.  I have been hired to do the living room and it is a tight space, as the case normally is with most Victorian conversions – it is a long, lean room with soaring ceilings.  However, the architectural interest that comes to mind when you think “Victorian” has been ripped out – the moldings are whimsy, the wall paneling has been long removed and the fireplace mantle is “meh” to say the least.  I would love to come in and do a full remodel to bring this starlet back to its leading lady status.

But…..

As is in most cases with my clients, they are first time home owners who have extended themselves to the max to purchase in this hot San Francisco real estate market.  Funds are slim – like I am calling in favors slim – so much of the high impact (and high budget) architectural details have to be shelved for another day.   I did find money in the budget to build new shelving, re-tile the fireplace, put in new hardwoods and install a window seat.  Fingers crossed, I can swing new stair railings in glass and walnut using an out of the box trick – it may or may not work …we will see.

All that said, since I won’t have a ton of architectural elements to play with in this room, I am going to be leaning heavily on textiles to tell a store and add visual interest.  While I am pretty positive, the clients will not go in this direction, I am currently in love with this fabric story……

Clockwise: Pindler & Pindler Whimsy in Shimmer//JAB Velvet in Tizian //Beacon Hill Camaraderie in Smoke//Pindelr & Pindler Goldleaf in Dove

I would use the Whimsy fabric as drapery with a dark or black leading edge to tone down some the “cuteness” in this fabric.  It may reappear as a pillow on the sofa which I would do in an inexpensive linen in a taupe color.  Pillows would be made in Camaraderie while I would recover their round ottoman in the Goldleaf fabric with contrast piping.  A sleek Milo Baughman inspired chair would be treated to the yellow velvet potentially with grey calf leather accents.

This is a work in progress – so we will see what happens when all is said and done, but this fabric story has all the criteria I strive for: color, pattern, texture, sheen and my personal favorite, a sense of humor.

Alrighty, I am off to continue my search for steel casement French doors – either vintage or someone who can make them at a price point that I don’t have to hoc my first-born.

Have a GREAT weekend!!!

Check me out on Facebook, Pinterest, Twitter and now Instagram (@CourtneyOutLoud).

One thought on “Pattern Play….

Leave a Reply

