A Home For Cocktails…..

I love a good mixed cocktail.  There is a magic to all the shaking, muddling, stirring and garnishing that goes into creating these delicious concoctions.  They are meant to be placed on a pedestal to be admired, sipped and lounged over.  Yet repeatedly, I find myself throwing them back simply because I have no place to put them at parties or social functions.

Enter ……

These perfect little tables are meant, as the name implies, to provide sanctuary to your libations.  For myself, I love using them because of their diminutive size, they are the perfect accessory to squeeze into a tight corner.  More so, some of the tables on the market are literally works of art that could easily substitute for sculpture.  However, rather than go down that path for the post, I stumbled up a cocktail table that I think is stylish, modern and perfectly priced……

The Stockholm table from Ikea is something that is new to me but I am instantly smitten with.  A quick inspection of it in the store revealed that it is of substantial weight (a good thing for cocktail tables) and it has a hinged top that allows for a small amount of hidden storage.  At $US99, I think it is the perfect piece in a modern space or a traditional home looking shake things up.   If you are extra handy, you could buy two and cut the second down by 6-8″ to have a fantastic looking two-tiered side table for less than $200.

Today I off to the Design Center to hear a speaker and hopefully pull some fabric for the Douglass Street project…..I am thinking yellow velvet, cognac leather and grey linen for some reason.  We will see how it all pans out.  So tell me, do you have a tiny piece of furniture in your home that you love?

Check me out on Facebook, Pinterest, Twitter and now Instagram.

3 thoughts on “A Home For Cocktails…..

  1. I, too, find myself throwing the cocktails back because I have no place to sit them down. At least, that’s what I tell myself the reason is!🙂 CUTE little table!!! Make perfect sense!

  2. Great post, and good luck with the fabric hunt! I think my favorite pieces of furniture in my home would be the coffee table I found for my family room ($25 at a thrift store) and the nightstands I found for the master bedroom ($25 for the pair on Craigslist). The nightstands need to be refinished, but it’s a project I look forward to!

    Coffee table: http://www.ahappyplacecalledhome.com/home/2012/3/30/your-rug-your-rug-your-rug-is-my-drug.html

    Nightstands:
    http://www.ahappyplacecalledhome.com/home/2012/3/3/a-twenty-and-a-five.html

Leave a Reply

