Guest Vignette: Rashon Carraway

Y’all know him and adore him if for nothing else but his spiffy bow ties.  I am stoked to have Rashon Carraway aka Mr. Goodwill Hunting as a visitor today for my guest vignette series, where I ask fellow bloggers to share a vignette in their home and explain why it is meaningful.  As usual, Rashon combines his trademark eye for finding hidden treasures and a rather sweet story to great effect….

I’m not rich. Neither am I wealthy, but that doesn’t mean I can’t enjoy luxuries life have to offer. The picture that you can’t really see in this vignette, is a photo of me when I was in high school. I am pictured along side of former President George W. Bush during Boys Nation in the Summer of 2001.   When I met the president, I knew immediately anything was possible. Although I still doubt much of what I do, I realize there are people who support me daily such as my family and friends and that gets me through. The picture gets rotated out ever so often with family photos or photos of my dog Mr. Benjamin, who has the wildest personality.

Each piece in this vignette is from a thrift store, except the flower. The space really defines the vicissitudes of life as I see it. Many of us have a few dings and certainly a lot of history as relating to our past. However, with just a little creativity and a little work, our future can be exactly as a reStyled piece from a second-hand store…fresh and vibrant. In such times as these its my little piece of serenity.

I wholeheartedly agree.  Rather than dwell in the past, we can look to the present and “style” the future we want.  Thank you Rashon for sharing…..

So tell me, what future plans are you crafting?

Check me out on Facebook and Pinterest as well as Twitter.

4 thoughts on “Guest Vignette: Rashon Carraway

  1. First of all, Mr. Goodwill Hunting, FABULOUS vignette! Oh, my! And they’re all thrift finds? You have definitely earned your handle!!! I am the WORST when it comes to finding great things. Perhaps because I have absolutely no desire to work on things so-so things with great potential…although I did pick my husband….but I digress. I love everything about this beautiful corner in your home. Outstanding job and bravo to you for seeing and bringing out the good in unloved pieces!

  2. Pingback: Hippy style headband « cloudy with a chance of crochet

  3. Mr. Goodwill Hunting always does FABULOUS work. Even the statement that he makes about the past is on point. Our past is just that, the past. It’s not where you start, but where you finish and it certainly is never too late to change. He is absolutely right about peace and serenity. Find yours and be blessed.

Leave a Reply

