Thank You Le Rapport Minoritaire…….

In case you haven’t noticed, I am African-American. Yup. The cat is out of the bag…..hopefully you won’t love me less after this startling confession…..

I mention this “shocking” tidbit because I was lucky enough to be included in a list of established and rising minority trendsetters as part of Le Rapport Minoritaire magazine’s 100 Outstanding Individuals in Architecture and Design….

I honestly am humbled to be included as part of the list and am amazed that folks even know who the hell I am. I have been a fan of Le Rapport for a while now and appreciate the editor’s push to give minorities in arts and design a platform to show their talents to a wider audience.

However what I appreciate more is that hopefully some budding designer in some remote city will stumble upon my profile via some random Google search and hopefully be inspired. See, the thing is that when I was growing up, I didn’t know a single ethnic artist, designer or anyone who did anything remote artistic. Along with my peers, I was told that in order to be successful in “today’s world” (circa 1990s) you had to be an engineer, doctor, lawyer or some other “business professional”. And my school provided these types of mentors and role models by the dozens. Honestly, if you were in high school in the 90s in Detroit, you couldn’t swing a cat without hitting some urban business professional in a school trying to mentor “tomorrow’s business leaders”.

I spent years deprogramming myself from thinking that success was found at the bottom of a briefcase or in an office cubicle. It was once I took my own leap of artistic faith that I have found most of my happiness, success and fulfillment. So today I proudly stand along with my other ethnic artistic brothers and sisters and say to the next generation……you are not alone. Success comes in all forms and in all shades. Know that 100 of us found our path and so did 100s of others before us. A path has been made and hopefully for you it will be a little easier find your way…..

Again many thanks to Le Rapport Minoritaire for my inclusion on the list. So I am curious, what was your childhood dream job? And even better, are you now doing it?

Check me out on Facebook and Pinterest as well as Twitter.

4 thoughts on “Thank You Le Rapport Minoritaire…….

  1. Court,

    First, congratulations! You are such a wonderful human being and your transparency and humility while you’ve gone through this journey to find your calling is inspiring. It’s a joy to see you gather accolades that support you as you take off in the world of design.

    This is such an important subject for me, as I’ve been programmed to think that success was to be found in a white coat or briefcase. I wanted to be an architect or a carpenter as a kid and my family steered me toward medicine. I can’t blame them for wanting the best for me. Medicine never worked out and I’ve been slowly coming around to realize that it’s OK for me to want to follow a more creative path. I have a plan in place and am growing braver by the day to dare to bring my dream of being a designer to fruition.

    Your support and our conversations, along with watching you succeed, are moving me along.

    This recognition is HUGE for the minority community. I am half Filipino and there are not many minority breakout stars in design. Hopefully, we can help change that.

    You’re an inspiration! xoxo court

  2. Congratulations, Courtney! What a wonderful honor!!! Back “in my day” there was a song by Nina Simone (lyrics by Bill Withers) called “To Be Young, Gifted & Black” which basically became a civil rights anthem. There is a line in the song that says, “Young, gifted and black; we must begin to tell our young there’s a world waiting for you; this is a quest that’s just begun.” YOUR quest HAS just begun, and you have the world just waiting for what you will do with your gift. I have no doubt you will be a great contributor. My husband is a physician, although that was not his first choice. We, too, like in the comment above were goaded into pursuing professions that were deemed “prominent.” I thought my parents might go the murder-suicide route when they learned I had no intention of becoming an attorney. It just wasn’t MY dream. For the past 25+ years I have been living my dream as an event designer. I didn’t make it to the ranks of people like Preston Bailey or Colin Cowie, but I have lived MY dream. Keep pushing toward yours, young man…there’s a pot of gold at the end of that rainbow!

  3. Congratulations! I am an african american engineering geek, with a penchant for writing poetry and short stories and a love love love and admiration of beautiful design… I happened on your site many moons ago and have been loving it ever since.

    Your lovely work should be celebrated! Kudos!

Leave a Reply

