Where Does He Keep All Those Dishes……

I am still in Ohio visiting family. I can’t say that my childhood home is that inspiring unless Walmart, mullets and gas stations get your blood pumping. So I thought it would be the perfect time to answer a question that seems to be on quite a few of my readers’ mind….where do I keep all the dishes I use in my tablescapes?”

So here is my super top secret……I keep my dishes…..wait for it….. wait for it…. in my garage. Earth shattering huh? I am fortunate enough to have the space in my garage to house a large shelving unit dedicated to the dishes and props used in my tablescapes.

Tucked in the corner is a four shelf unit that is pretty much squashed with dishes and napkins…..

As you can see, I have a lot of dishes. Actually at the last count, I have two complete sets of china thanks to The Partner’s parents and multiple partial sets of dishes that I have picked up here and there. It’s a sickness and an addiction, but I love dishes and all the pretty things associated with them.

On the opposite side of the garage, I have a tall highboy that I use to store my candles, my non-crystal candlesticks, silverware as well as the multiple props I use to create my tablescapes. The crystal candlesticks are used throughout the house in various vignettes – when I need to use one, I just pluck it from the vignette and plunk it down on the tablescape.

And I have a problem with vases as you can see from the picture below. I keep those also in the garage on a low shelf where I keep there rest of my gardening supplies. I love having them all spread out and easily accessible. I keep a variety of different sizes – mostly from the Dollar Store – that I can wrap in ribbon or paper to match whatever table I am creating.

So tell me …how do you organize your collections? Shoot me an email or leave a comment below. I am off to the Space and Aviation Museum today in Dayton, then a final visit with my Grammy before I head off to see my cousin and her two adorable kids. Then Wednesday, The Partner and I are off to Detroit to see my father and step-Mom.

Check me out on Facebook and Pinterest as well as Twitter.

7 thoughts on “Where Does He Keep All Those Dishes……

  1. You’re headed to Detroit? I have good friends there. Please tell them and Aretha Franklin I say hello!🙂🙂🙂 I think the garage is a great place to store your things if you have the space for it! We just have a little 2-car garage that has both cars as well as my husband’s sundry tools and lawn care equipment in it despite the fact we have a lawn guy who uses his own equipment. Oh…and a tractor for clearing snow. Forgot about that. Again, a snow tractor despite the fact that I just came in from clearing the driveway, sidewalk & porch with a hand shovel. Go figure! I’m totally digging that red manzanita branch! I have several, but I never painted any of them. That’s pretty slick! Don’t worry about your “sickness.” It’s a healthy sickness…if that makes sense! Better to have tons of dishes and linens and such than to be spending our money on something illegal or immoral, right? That’s my justification, and I’m stickin’ to it! I don’t know if you saw my recent post on where I keep all my crap….uh, I mean fine decorating pieces…but stuff is literally hidden away in nearly every room of the house. We even built onto our house (the attic space adjacent to my dressing room) to create more usable walk-in space for me to store stuff!!! Pitiful! Carry on with your sickness, Courtney…it’s good for you!🙂

  2. I also have a dish addiction. I have them in the dining room, kitchen, basement, and even on the walls! Hey, there is nothing wrong with wanting a pretty table, right? If you pass by Farmington Hills, give a little wave my way🙂

  3. Yes I suffer from this incurable sickness. They are hidden in closets, under the bed in the guest bedroom, and the kitchen. My favorite place to display aka store, them hanging them on the walls. I love your space in the garage.

Leave a Reply

