Thinking Out Loud about….. Brass Hardware

One of the projects I am working on is a mid-century house in the hills of Oakland.  It is a stunning house and the clients are absolute dolls.  They are a young and hip couple who appreciate design, trust my judgement and love those touches and details  that makes a room unique – seriously I am a lucky boy to have them as clients.

Speaking of details, in their living room, they have a beautiful credenza they found for a song .  The piece will eventually house their turn table and record collection once we slightly modify it.  One of the standout aspects of the piece is the beautiful brass detailing but somewhere along the way, the original handles to the drawers were “lost” and replaced with pretty heinous silver knobs.  Normally I am all about mixing metal finishes but in this case, not so much.

So I am on the look out for brass fixtures to replace the existing silver ones.  With the explosion of mid century “love” that has been happening as of late, one would think the market would be bursting with brass hardware just waiting for a  piece of furniture to call home.  Surprisingly, not so much.  To be blunt, a lot of the brass hardware looks like it has time traveled from the 1980s to wreck havoc on my design.  Knowing that custom hardware is not in the budget, I plowed through hardware catalogs, internet stores and  spent a good deal of time on good ol’ Pinterest to find 5 mass produced options that may work:

Source: 1 / 2/ 34/ 5

I am leaning towards Number 3 or Number 2.  I am still not sure how Number 4 ended up in the mix but it has it’s merits.  I like Number 5 but think it may be too “Asian” for the credenza.  Number 1 feels a tad too bulbous and may not play well with my idea of a clean lined room.

And if you were wondering, yes I give an inordinate amount of thought to these types of details.  I may explain why I wake up at night and yell out things like “Plaster Frette Work Ceiling!” or lie awake wondering if the champagne colored wallpaper I am installing in a room reads “Dom or Miller Genuine Draft”…..

So do you have a favorite of the 5 options?  Leave  comment and let me know!

Check me out on Facebook and Pinterest as well as Twitter.

12 thoughts on “Thinking Out Loud about….. Brass Hardware

  1. I am also voting for #3. As a fellow interior designer, I totally “get” your attention to detail. Maybe you’ll post a picture of the credenza with the new hardware??

    • I wasn’t familiar with them Shannon but now I am thanks to you. I have a request to get their catalogs. Some of their stuff is amazing. Sadly, I wont be able to use it since I can’t imagine spending about 2/3 of the price of the piece on hardware for it since the pulls I like and would recommend are $65.

Leave a Reply

