Loving Out Loud: Chakkis

I love collecting items with a story.  Personally, an interesting story will trump something that is just solely decorative any day in my book.  Hence why my home is filled with random hunks of wood, odd statutes and little trinkets.  But they provide a sense of history and permeate the house with soul.

One thing I have been coveting is a chakki, a home appliance or a commercial appliance involving two round stones to mill grains to a powder.  It use to be a mainstay in many Indian households.  I have several friends who remember their mothers and grandmothers using them to make family meals…..

Hence when I saw that Serena & Lily had reinterpreted the chakki as an ottoman, I was instantly smitten and excited……

However I was less smitten with the $500 price once you include shipping and taxes.  Fortunately, a quick search on the internet resulted in me finding a fantastic option from Tara Home  with a much more palatable price of $199.

While the Tara Home version doesn’t come with a cushion, that is easily enough remedied for minimal cost.  Plus you get to customize the piece to fit your exact specifications.

If I had the space, I would get on of these immediately!  I would use it in our living room or maybe as outdoor seating (it would need to be moved indoors during off-season).  The chakki is exactly the kind of piece that I think about when decorating with “antiques”.  While not high in monetary value, pieces like this, are beautiful items which I think will be passed down from generation to generation.  To me, that is the true meaning of an antique — something that your family will cherish for years to come.

Don’t forget to enter my new give away to receive a copy of the new book, This Burns My Heart, by author Samuel Park.  It’s the perfect holiday read!

Check me out on Facebook and Pinterest as well as Twitter.

One thought on “Loving Out Loud: Chakkis

Leave a Reply

