Extreme Decorating Quandary……

This weekend I finally watched the show,  Donna Decorates Dallas on HGTV.  The designer on the show, Donna, is a larger than life character who strongly believes in big and bold designs.  While I may not be a fan of her design aesthetic, I do appreciate the perspective she brings and applaud HGTV for being adventurous in its programming.  After watching the show, I thought about the article I wrote for Centsational Girl this month about decorating with large scale items and I wondered if “big was really better”?   I  have always loved pieces that made a definitive statement but when does a piece stop being functional and simply become “extreme”? 

Most of the above pieces are beautiful and impactful but I wonder is that enough?  Is there such a thing as too big, too bold, too out there when it comes to furniture and accessories?    When does it all become too much?

Just something to ponder as you start your week.  Happy Monday!

Check out my Facebook and Pinterest pages as well as my Twitter.

3 thoughts on “Extreme Decorating Quandary……

  1. High ceilings, meet gothic bed…fight!

    I LOVE that bed. I think the whole bigger is better is really dependent on the context of the room. I love the crazy bed but would tone down the bedding to make the frame pop even more. Hate the giant mirror in bathroom – seems completely at odds with the overall aesthetic of the room.

Leave a Reply

