Planter Reaper Strikes Again……

Typically when someone mentions “amber wave of grain” they are either:

1) Extremely patriotic

2) Actually discussing wheat fields

I use the term to discuss the chaos known as my patio garden containers.  Back in June, we finished refreshing our outdoor space and I opted to plant Cannomois Grandis (Virgata), a reed-like plant that was supposed to grows up to 10 feet tall and hide the retaining wall.  The shoots on the plant take on a pinkish hue while young and can range from yellow to red as it matures.  These were the plants in July……..

Pretty cool right?  Tall, slender shoots that rustled in the glorious warm breezes of the afternoon.  The reeds were the perfect organic juxtaposition to all the hard angles in the space.  Fast forward to October……..

Good Grief Charlie Brown!  My once tall (and green) plants now look like shafts of wheat ready for harvest.  Yet again, my fickle finger of plant death has snuck in and wiped these suckers out.  “Virtually kill proof” said the gardening shop I bought the plants from …. well “virtually” doesn’t mean entirely.  Honestly, I should be hired by R&D by some horticulture company to test out the durability of their plants – because let’s be real, if a plant can withstand me, it can withstand anyone!

At least on a brighter note, the aptenia I planted in the new box on top of the fence is thriving.  This is what the planter box looked like in mid-July…….

And here is what the box looks like now…..

The aptenia has totally grown over the sides of the box and is beginning to trail nicely.   Surprisingly, I thought I would kill these plants before I killed the reeds since I grew these from cuttings.  Go figure……

It looks like I have taken one step forward and one step back as it relates to my patio.  So it looks like I will be shopping this weekend for some new plants for the containers – I am thinking of cutting my losses and going with bamboo.  What do you think?

Have a great weekend!

Check out my Facebook and Pinterest pages as well as my Twitter.

5 thoughts on “Planter Reaper Strikes Again……

  1. C, when you go the garden center tell the plantsman the micro climate of your planting beds. It looks like it gets extremely hot there and possibly your last plants couldn’t take that much sun/heat. Just a thought. You might also be over/under watering them. I use to be a “plant” killer too but found out there is always a reason for it. Be patient, you’ll figure it out and don’t forget to “feed” them.

  2. Definitely Bamboo. I’m terrible at watering and I’ve had a bamboo in a pot for about 5 years, which regularly loses all of it’s leaves (through lack of water). I give it a long drink and it rewards me with luscious green-ness. And so pretty. x

Leave a Reply

