Current Obsession….. Outerwear

The Bay Area’s Indian Summer is coming to an end.  The mornings are crisp with dew on the grass and a frosty bite to the air.  I make no qualms about loving this time of year if for nothing else but the clothing.  I am a sweater and jacket dude.  I have never found a sweater or leather coat I didn’t love.  I adore putting chunky sweaters with fitted vests, layering turtlenecks under bombers and wearing oversized cardigans over just about anything. 

I am a walking advertisement for all things Autumn so it pains me to look in my closet and realize that I have done little in the way of investment for this season.  True that I have more coats than I can shake a stick at, but there is that almost narcotic high that one gets from buying the “perfect” piece for their wardrobe.  Problem is ….well Poppa is working with a limited budget this time around and my caviar tastes need to rationed down considerably.  So I have set a budget and I can either blow it on one fab item or parcel it out….you know trying to be adult and all.  I have narrowed down my choices to the following…..

I love this leather jacket from All Saints especially the collar.  The leather is washed and distressed, making for the perfect kick around jacket.  I am seeing this as an everyday jacket with a turtleneck, skinny jeans and boots. 

Pros: Moderately priced. Can be worn casually. Can be worn in the rain.

Cons: May not be dressy enough. Trendy collar may become dated quickly.

This sweater coat from Black Fleece by Brooks Brothers is awesome.  Lined in shearling, it is super cozy and warm.  With San Francisco’s unpredictable weather, it is the perfect “go and grab” outerpiece for the season.  I see this dressed up or down with grey flannel trousers, a fitted button down and a pop of color from a belt.

Pros: It can take me into winter due to the shearling.  It is versatile.

Cons: Can’t wear a suit jacket under it. Not rain suitable. Expensive.

This shawl wrap sweater is pure drama thanks to the master Ralph Lauren.  Imagine being wrapped in cashmere every day on your errands.   Luxury at it’s finest in my opinion.  I can see this with jeans and sweater or as styled in the picture for a more formal engagement. 

Pros: Light enough to layer. Cashmere.

Cons: Not suitable for rain.  High drama for day wear. Durability.

It’s red. I love a bold statement and this red coat from Zara totally does it for me.  In your face and proud but in a classic trench cut.  It is a great piece and totally me.

Pros: Great color. Great price point. Classic cut.

Cons: Bold color. May be too trendy. Durability

So which one do you think I should get?  Leave a comment and let me know……

Check out my Facebook and Pinterest pages as well as my Twitter.

2 thoughts on “Current Obsession….. Outerwear

Leave a Reply

