Loving Out Loud: Brass Shelving

I found myself daydreaming recently.  For normal people, they daydream about winning the lottery, meeting Oprah or having a magical tub of Ben and Jerry’s Chubby Hubby that never ends (my other daydream FYI).  However, being the design weirdo I am, I dream about shelving, in particular brass bookcases.

I stumbled upon these pictures of Billy Baldwin interiors and was smitten with the shelving….

Billy Baldwin

Billy Baldwin

Aside from the fact that the interiors are just amazing, the shelving is what is catching my eye.  The brass and glass shelving are the perfect foil to otherwise dark rooms.  The light and sheen the shelves add to the room is exactly what I hope to add to my master bedroom. 

But alas, brass shelving doesn’t come cheap if not at all so me thinks I shall be doing the DIY route.  I figure it can’t be that hard — I just need to find some shelves with good “bones” to spray paint.  I also think I won’t go as shiny….maybe a hammered brass since the bedroom will have gold accents.

So what are you daydreaming about?  Leave a comment and let me know!

Follow me on Twitter and Facebook.

3 thoughts on “Loving Out Loud: Brass Shelving

  1. My obsession right now is reclaimed wood furniture! I LOVE the weathered/textured look of it–next project on my list is building a foyer table out of reclaimed redwood planks my brother (a carpenter) has left over from a job he did recently. So excited!

  2. I dream about a powder room covered in birch bark. It comes in small pieces and canoe sized pieces. I just don’t have the skills to do it. I think these are the most famous bookcases of the last 50 years. If you can figure out a way to knock them off nicely, You will be famous. Ann

  3. I dream of a place with a dishwasher and in house laundry room! Really I just dream of owning a place in which I can paint the walls. I am still an apartment dweller.

    Oh and teleportation and a bag of holding! I’m a simple creature really.

Leave a Reply

