Rooster In the Hen House: SF Blogger Meet-Up

Yesterday I went to my first official design blogger gathering in San Francisco.  Crazy right?  I have been blogging and chatting for over a year and I have never gone to an event?  Well it’s partially due to the fact that I am shy when it comes to group settings and second, I am not sure if there has been an organized gathering prior to this?  In any case, I am happy that Cristin of Simplified Bee and Malka of Closet Innovations decided to organize and host the event.

Closet Innovations was kind enough to open their showroom to us for the event and we got to tour what essentially would be my dream closet – dark wood, drawers lined in cedar and organizational ideas for everything.  For a man who loves The Container Store, this was my mecca.  While the showroom was nice, it was nicer to see all the fantastic, funny, and witty ladies I have come to love in person.  As I said during the evening “it’s reassuring to know that everyone has legs” since we normally get to see our fellow bloggers through our pretty and shiny head shots that live in the corner of our sites.

I will be upfront and tell you I was a bad blogger.  I didn’t take as many shots as I would have liked…but then I was having too much fun chatting, drinking and posing on Murphy beds for candid shots (Cristin – I need a copy of that pic!).  But here is what I was able to snag from my evening out……

Cute Trio: Courtney of A Thoughtful Place, friend and Michaela of Michaela Noelle Designs

Kate of Centsational Girl and Crystal of Rue Magazine

One of our hosts, Malka Sabroe-JoHanson of Closet Innovations with artist and designer Mariska Meijers

Dynamic Duo: Kate of Centsational Girl with host Cristin of Simplified Bee

Group shot of all my "hens"......

It turned out to be a great night not only because I was the only male in the room (you straight dudes are totally missing out!)  but because I got to meet many of my favorite bloggers in person as well as be introduced to several new ones who I am sure will become fast friends.

I can’t wait for the next gathering!  I am off to price out lighting and run errands.  Hope you have a great weekend!!!

9 thoughts on “Rooster In the Hen House: SF Blogger Meet-Up

  1. You SO were the rooster in the hen house. What a fun night!! So glad to have met you in person. We were talking about how awesome you were literally the whole night long! (:

  2. Rrr, rrr, rrr, rrr, rrrrrrrr.

    That was my pathetic rooster impersonation. SOOOOO delighted to have met you in person last night, I feel like we’re kindred design souls! You were a welcome rooster in our hen house, and I can’t wait to join forces with you again.

    xoxo
    Kate

  3. YAYYY! SO fun to meet you and I know we all had a blast hanging out last night! Thanks for posting all the cute photos!!! Have a great weekend! 🙂 PS…still cannot get over your FAB Gucci shoes…love!

  4. Fabulous, thank you so much for the blog and for coming. It was delightful meeting you and great fun having the event.
    Malka
    Closet Innovations
    San Francisco

Leave a Reply

