Recipe: Chocolate Oatmeal Walnut Cookies

I love chocolate chip cookies.  Warm from the oven, there is nothing better.  Well actually there are a few things better than chocolate chip cookies but this is a PG-13 blog, so I will leave them out of the ranking for the moment.  In any case, I am always on the hunt for a “good” recipe — let me be up front in that I have a very different idea of a “good chocolate chip cookie” than most.  I like my cookies to be large, filled with chocolate chunks and jammed with some type of nut.  The final product needs to be slightly sweet, chewy and produce crisp edges.  Like I said, I have a very different version of “perfection” than most folks, so when I ran across a recipe for Chocolate-Oatmeal-Walnut Cookies I definitely was curious.

The recipe is from the Tartine Cookbook by Elisabeth Prueitt & Chad Robertson and is a delicious twist on the traditional cookie recipe.  After making a batch last night, I am officially hooked on this recipe.  The recipe produces large, beautiful pale cookies with crisp edges that are jammed with chocolate and nuts but the oatmeal provides a nice toothy balance.  Slightly sweet, a bit salty but a whole lotta delicious — this may be my ” go to” recipe this summer for cookies.

Chocolate-Oatmeal-Walnut Cookies
Yield: 24 3-inch cookies

Ingredients:
Bittersweet Chocolate- 12 oz
All-purpose Flour – 2 cups
Baking Powder – 1 teaspoon (tsp)
Baking Soda – 1 tsp
Old-Fashioned Rolled Oats – 2 cups
Unsalted Butter, room temperature – 1 cup/2 sticks
Sugar – 1 cup
Blackstrap/Dark Molasses – 2 tsp
Large Eggs – 2
Whole Milk – 2 tablespoons (tbsp)
Vanilla extract – 1 tbsp
Salt – 1 tsp
Walnuts, coarsely chopped – 1 cup

Instructions:

1) Preheat oven to 350 degree F.  Line 2-3 baking sheets with parchment paper or a nonstick liner.  Prepare a small bowl of water and keep nearby.  You will need this bowl for dipping your fingers when shaping the cookie dough.  The moisture keeps the dough from sticking to your fingers as you flatten the cookies.

2) Coarsely chop the chocolate into 1/4 – 1/2 inch pieces.  Put the pieces into a bowl and place into freezer until needed.

3)  In a large mixing bowel, stir together the flour, baking soda, baking powder and oats.  Set aside.

4) Using a standing mixer fitted with a paddle attachment, beat butter on medium-high speed until light and creamy.  Slowly add sugar and mix until light in color and fluffy.

5)  Stop mixer and scrape down the sides.  Add molasses and beat until well combined.

6)  With mixer running, add eggs one at a time, making sure the first is well incorporated before adding the second.

7)  Beat in the milk, vanilla and salt.  Stop mixer and scrape down the sides.  On low-speed, add in flour mixture slowly until just incorporated.

8)  Stop mixer, scrape down the sides of the bowl and fold in the chocolate and walnuts with a rubber spatula.

9) Retrieve your small bowl of water.  Scoop the dough onto the prepared baking sheets using an ice-cream scoop (3.5 oz).  Dip your fingers into the water and press out each scoop into a thin, flat 3-inch cookie.

10) Bake until the edges of the cookie are lightly browned but the centers remain pale, 10-12 minutes.  Rotate the cookies 5-6 minutes into baking for even cooking.  Remove from oven and let sit for 5-10 minutes.  Transfer cookies to a wire rack and let completely cool.  Cookies will keep at room temperature for 2 weeks in an air-tight container.

Notes: 
– Due to the amount of butter in these cookies, they spread ALOT.  If you want perfectly round cookies, you will need to do about 5 cookies per sheet, ergo you will need to be at least 5-6 batches.

– Feel free to substitute skim milk for the whole milk.  I tasted no difference when I substituted.

– Do not use quick-cook oats in lieu of rolled oats.  They are two different products – the quick cook oats will produce a mushy lumpy cookie suitable only for throwing at your worst enemies.

8 thoughts on “Recipe: Chocolate Oatmeal Walnut Cookies

  1. When they are thicker, they are called Cowboy Cookies. There are lots of recipes on the web for them, but my father liked my mother’s the best. Ann

    • Ann – when I think cowboy cookies I always think the addition of raisins and coconut, but then that may be a local variation. And here I was thinking Tartine was being all fancy🙂 However, I am positive your Mom’s was way better than mine…

  2. Damn you, Courtney.
    Don’t you know I am trying to cut down. After yesterdays cookie dough temptation you would think you could give it a rest! 😉
    These look absolutely wonderful. LOVE a lot of nuts in my cookies too…oh, come on. I am speaking on PG terms too! I’m off to eat a rice cake….

  3. Please clarify the butter quantity for me. One stick is usually 1/2 cup, 2 cups to a pound of butter. Maybe I just missed it. Thanks

  4. Oh my, we have the same idea of the perfect chocolate chip cookie! Tartine is the best bakery in SF…thanks for the post!
    (FYI I found your blog via Centsational Girl via The Art of Doing stuff)

    • Leah – that is alot of “vias” but I am happy you found me! I love Tartine and have indulged in their bread pudding for WAY too long. My pants are a little tight but my tummy is happy.

Leave a Reply

