More Wood & Brass Lighting Awesomeness…..

If you have not guessed, I love wood and brass together.  If my last post regarding my new wood and brass chandelier did not affirm that notion, then maybe today’s will.  A few months ago, I found a killer brass and wood lamp at my favorite resale shop:

Unfortunately, it was missing a harp, needed some rewiring, new shade and the base had “lamp psoriasis”……

Or what I think everyone else would call rust.  However, none of those things deterred me because I saw how awesome this lamp could be with about an hour’s worth of effort.

Thanks to about 10 minutes of sanding of the base, 15 minutes of rewiring, 10 minutes of wood oiling and sealing and 20 minutes of spray painting, I was able to turn this puppy around…..

I was lucky enough to find the shade at Anthropology for $30 marked down from $129.  I love the fun pattern and colors of the shade……

To be perfectly honest, I am still on the fence regarding the shade.  Part of me feels that it may be too busy considering the lamp base already has a pattern.  However,  part of me loves the craziness of it.  It strikes me as very 70s chic – the brass, wood and ikat pattern.

So if I was to rate my newest brass and wood light it would rank around the level of 70s awesomeness…..well if awesome was Charlie’s Angels + Bionic Woman combined with spending the day on Fantasy Island before heading out to Studio 54 in a custom Halston leisure suit.

Yeah, I think the lamp is just that kind of awesome.

Happy Monday!!!!

Update 8/24/11: Submitted this project to the CSI Lamp Challenge

13 thoughts on “More Wood & Brass Lighting Awesomeness…..

  1. It works. The shade is the perfect shape. I hate it when people and stores get the proportions wrong. The pattern is fine. The wood is very neutral. Kudos. Ann

  2. Oh my gosh – before I got to you calling it 70’s chic I literally thought those very same words!!! I LOVE IT! Like I’d steal it if I lived closer🙂 Awesome indeed!

  3. My mom has this same lamp – well, almost the same. I’m pretty sure the wood part is actually plastic. She also still has the GIGANTIC lamp shade that it came with – I’ll have to send her a picture to show her how awesome it could look.

  4. I just found the SAME lamp at a yard sale a few weeks ago for $2! Mine had this fabulous dingy fringy satin shade that came with it though. You missed out.😉

    Visiting from the CSI Project–the Anthro shade is really fun!🙂

  5. What brass spray paint did you use? I’m having a hard time finding that particular shade that you have there which is what I want🙂

    • I honestly don’t remember which spray paint I used unfortunately. My apologies! And sadly, unless you search on eBay, the shade is from Anthropology 2011, so I am positive it is no longer in stores.

Leave a Reply

