Monkey Business

If you had a million Shakespeares, could they write like a monkey?   -Steven Wright
I believe that not everything in your home needs to pristine and perfect.  Perfect is boring and predictable.  I like to have a little shot of humor in each room – something that makes me smile or better laugh.

Hence why I am excited for the picture I purchased this weekend on eBay:
monkey portrait
When I saw this picture, I literally laughed for a good minute, then appreciated the detail the artist placed into this portrait parody.  The style of the picture evokes images of Frida Kahlo’s self-portrait paintings but not in a malicious way.  I love the styling of the subject (monkey) as well as the surprise in its face.

However, what I love most is that I smile every time I look at it.  And honestly, is there any better reason to buy a piece of art?  The artist has a variety of pictures on eBay – do a search for “monkey portrait” and take a gander at the other adorable, hilarious and amusing portraits that the artist has for sale.

As I wait for the portrait to arrive, I will be trying to figure out exactly how to decorate out the new patio.  The stonework was finished right before the rains hit, so we didn’t have time to arrange the furniture or add the new plants.  As soon as we finish with those pieces, I promise some after pictures!

4 thoughts on “Monkey Business

  1. Congrats on your purchase from AluArt! We have two of his (?) dog portraits– the creepy cocker spaniel with eyes that follow you and bore through your soul is staring right down at me now as I type– so I can tell you with confidence that they are worth every penny of the shipping.

  2. Pingback: My Selfish Act: New Chair For Guest Room…… | Courtney Out Loud

Leave a Reply

