Two Bedside Table Vignettes…..

Sometimes I get distracted by very random urges.  For example, I once drove an hour and a half for a pair of boots because they were on sale.  Another time in college, I refolded  every single item of clothing using a piece of cardboard so I could have perfect stacks rather than studying for a final.  Today was no different, when I should have been painting a picture for my install tomorrow, I found myself daydreaming about how to re-accessorize my bedside table.

My bedside table is one of those items in my master bedroom that I want to replace.  They are Ikea Expedit cubes in an espresso finish that we bought 7 years ago when we first moved to California.  They were cheap, simple and went with the college chic decor we had at the time.  Flash forward to the present and we still have those darn things…….

Expedit Shelf Espresso Ikea

It ain’t pretty but it will do until I find a suitable replacement.  However, until that day comes, there is nothing saying that I can’t at least jazz it up right? So rather than painting, I created two tabletop vignettes using items already in the house to see if I could shake things up a bit….

vignette One : Urban Sophisticate

Antique trophy vintage trophy brass lamp brass

The inspiration came from the fact that I bought freesia at my local grocery store.  I put the flowers into a little silver urn which in turn inspired adding in the vintage trophies.  The picture is a reproduction of a picture I have admired for a long while but can’t afford.  Thankfully, a piece of craft paper, a paint pen and 30 minutes can at least give the look sans the cost.

vignette Two: Comical Combo

zebra lamp gorilla picture tulips brass lamp

gorilla

purple tulips ceramic figurine

The partner to the brass lamp I made over this week makes an appearance but with its original zebra print shade.  Since I wanted to do something playful, the zebra print works this context and inspired the rest of the vignette.  The gorilla portrait was something I originally bought for the guest bathroom but never used.  The Asian figurine is a keepsake that I typically have on my desk which holds my paper clips.  As for the flowers, they were plucked from a small bouquet I had in the house.  I thought the purple and yellow combo was odd and perfect for this vignette.  I put them in a small Jonathan Adler vase that I picked up a last year at Antropologie – gotta love their sales!

So two different looks for free….not a bad price tag.  I actually really like the Urban Sophisticate vignette, so much so that I decided to keep it up after the shoot.  Now I just need to reconfigure The Partner’s table to have it coordinate.

Heck, with the new look, I just may be able to live with these bedside tables for a couple more months!  Have you did a little “redecorating” in your home?  Shoot me an email at lifeoutloudmail@gmail.com and share your endeavors or leave a comment with a link to your work!

Okay, now I REALLY need to focus and crank this painting out.  But before I start, I think I may alphabetize my spices…….

5 thoughts on “Two Bedside Table Vignettes…..

  1. I can relate, Courtney. I switch gears often. Your vignettes both look great. I especially like the Sophisticate.

  2. Pingback: Flower Power….. | Courtney Out Loud

Leave a Reply

