Mother’s Day Tablescape

I received an email from one of my long-time readers,  Shauna.  She is a retired grandmother in a Southern state who was one of the first people to start reading my blog and has always been a kind supporter sending encouraging emails throughout the last year.  As usual her email opened up talking about her grandchildren (whom she adores) and the woes that are common to being a mother to three adult children.  One of the things she mentioned in her email was that her children said that her style was “fussy” because she likes traditional china with floral motifs and woodland scenes.

“They say I am being fuddy duddy because I want to set a nice table when they come visit.  I don’t think it’s being old fashioned to set a table that is pretty?  Just like I like to dress up when I go out to dinner, I think setting a proper table for special occassions is important, well at least to me.”

Shauna laments that she is worried that her “grandbabies” will grow up thinking that nice dinners “come from a box”.  At the end of the email, she asked me if I would do a table setting with more traditional china to show her how to mix things up and effectively “get her daughter to put a sock in it..” (her words….not mine!).

Hmmm…..traditional china into a modern tablescape?  I know it can be done, but the challenge was how to do it and not have it looked forced.  Second, where the hell was I gonna find some traditional china since all my dish sets are fairly contemporary.  One word – resale shop.  I went to my local second-hand shop and stumbled up a beautiful set of teacups and saucers in a delicate yellow and blue floral motif.  It also didn’t hurt that they were on mark down!  SCORE!

So with a starting point, I did what I always do – I shopped my home to find what I already had to pull the look together.  After doing some digging, I unearthed some tea pots I bought at Pier One last year that inspired the centerpieces and the notion that I would do a Mother’s Day Tea on my patio.  Usually I brainstorm an imaginary client to center the tablescape around but I already had my muse in Shauna.  Strong, sassy and a tad traditional, Shauna exudes the type of grandmother I think any person would want.  She bakes cookies, occasionally rides a Harley and has a killer closet full of beautiful shoes (oh yeah Shauna is a shoe addict – YSL, Gucci, Choos – yup this lady loves her some heels).  So I knew that I had some leeway in creating a tablescape that was traditional but definitely not stuffy.

I think I was able to integrate the traditional with the modern (plus sneak in some booze into the mix just fro you Shauna).  I will do a full breakdown of the table on Monday with additional pictures as well as tell you about an awesome give away.  However, until then, have a fantastic weekend and to all the wonderful ladies who have provided nurturing, love and support to all those around them, HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY!

ps: Shauna, I hope you like the tablescape.  It’s a little bit of sass with whole lot of class…just like you darlin’!

Link Parties:

Show & Tell Link Party on Blue Cricket Designs

Tutorial & Tips Tuesday on The Stories of A to Z

Table Top Tuesday on A Stroll Thru Life

Texture Tuesday on Kim Klassen Cafe

Tea Time Tuesday on Lady Katherine Tea Parlour

Tea Time Tuesday on Rose Chintz Cottage

Tea Cup Tuesday on Martha’s Favorites

Tuesday Tea for Two on The Plumed Pen

Teapot & Tea Things Tuesday on The Silken Purse

Tablescape Thursdays on Between Naps on the Porch

Hooking Up with HoH on House of Hepworths

Lovin’ It Fridays on TidyMom

11 thoughts on “Mother’s Day Tablescape

  1. amazing. my sweet husband planned a picnic and forgot plates:) we ate goat cheese and sausage on napkins. the funniest part was cutting the sausage on a napkin.

  2. Pingback: Mother’s Day Table Breakdown & May Give Away « Courtney Out Loud

  3. Gorgeous tables and I love your table arrangements. I always enjoy a color scheme with yellow and blue. Just beautiful.

    Carolyn/A Southerners Notebook

  4. Hello-Wonderful tablescapes—wondered what was served at all these tables–maybe we could ask them for a menu-I am director at our small town museum and we are planning on having wonderful teas- could use some ideas on food.

Leave a Reply

