I Now Remember….

I have been working on a home yoga studio this week for a client.  It is a fairly quick turn around project since she needs the space revamped by May 1 and I leave for a vacation and a wedding starting on April 24.  The design includes a vinyl decal on the mirrored closet doors in the shape of a lotus.

 

I proudly patted myself on the back when the client flipped for the idea and quickly ordered the decal.  Today I installed it and remembered why I have not suggested a vinyl decal in over a year.  Even the simplest ones are a bear to put up, but thanks to my ingenuity (errr….stupidity) and the need to divide the decal between two sliding closet doors, I had to split the  decal into four pieces.

Have you ever tried to put up something that instantly sticks to anything, has to be aligned perfectly  and is a lint magnet? Now multiply that by four.   It wasn’t a pretty scenario.  There were curse words, a tear or two and the realization why I hated vinyl decals.   I finally called upon The Partner for assistance and he came to my rescue.  But even with his help, it took us almost 2 hours to install the decal.  We had to tweak the piece, torque some elements and perform some DIY surgery with my Exact-o knife, but in the end, I am really happy with the results….

I don’t even mind the brass molding on the doors – it almost acts like a frame in this scenario.  Well that is what  I keep telling myself since I can’t change the color.  Denial is a well-used tool in my wheelhouse this week.  So I  still have to paint out the trim and molding, hang artwork and arrange furniture, but I think by early next week, I will be done with the project.  Cross your fingers for me!

However, for the moment, I am going to bask in the glory that is called a lotus decal and write myself a large note NEVER to recommend one to a client again.  Well at least one that I have to install……

For those of you who have entered the April Give Away, thank you!  For those of you who have not, what are you waiting for?  I am basically giving you the dishes off my table!  What are you waiting on?  Blood?    Remember that the give away closes on Monday and you can enter multiple times!

4 thoughts on “I Now Remember….

  1. My husband and I have a vinyl cutter and have done some work for small businesses. I know this sounds really strange, but it works!!! – us a wet application if you ever have to apply vinyl to a shiny surface (mirrors, signs, cars…). Use a mixture of rubbing alcohol and water and spray on surface first and can even spray some on the back of the vinyl. Then apply, still sticky and you won’t be able to move it around, but there won’t be near the bubbles. It won’t immediatly want to stick to your surface when you don’t want it to stick. I know, I have been there with huge vinyl pieces wanting to stick to themselves and everything around them. My neighbor kept telling me that was the way to do it and I didn’t believe her until I tried. We looked up the directions on line and it worked like a charm (after we had to remove a ruined set of lettering from our first “dry” application). Good luck if you do it again.

Leave a Reply

