Easter Tablescape & April Give Away

Note: For those of you overly anxious beavers, details about the give away are at the bottom of this post.

I don’t know if it is the religious connotations associated with the holiday or simply that Easter earmarked that Spring was in full throttle but it has always ushered in a sense of freshness and vitality.  When I was imagining my client for the Easter tablescape that I envisioned, Clara, a 13-year old Southern girl with a bright future and an old soul.  Clara lives in Kentucky with her Mom, Dad and younger brother in a restored Victorian in the section of town right off the main square.  She and her Mom hired me to create the table for the annual Mother & Daughter Easter Lunch that the Junior League throws every year.  It is a time-held tradition and honor to host the lunch and Clara wanted to be sure that the “youth table” where the young members of the Junior League will be sitting is fun, whimsical but not “kiddish”.  The table represents her first interaction with her first Junior League members who range from 12-18 years old.  Clara wanted to impress them with a table that said “Easter” but without using rabbits, lilies and Easter eggs.  This was her moment to emerge as a young lady and shed her “kiddie” image.

It was a tall order, but something I relished since I don’t enjoy doing obvious tablescapes.  After doing a bit of brainstorming, I decided that I wanted to play with the idea of real and faux flowers, so I took a class at my local craft store to learn how to make paper flowers which was tons of fun and really helpful for this project.  In turn, I also knew I wanted to incorporate edible elements into the tablescape.  After playing around with various configurations, I settled on one that used a mix of real flowers, sod, paper & candy flowers, coffee filter wreaths and jelly beans.  Sadly as much as I wanted to use Peeps in the mix, I nixed the idea because I could not find a way to properly display those delicious marshmallow treats and keep them in scale with the rest of the table.

Even sans Peeps, I think I was able to create a table that is bright and bold using pastels and punches of saturated color thanks to fresh flowers.  In the end, I think I was able to give Clara exactly what she wanted – a grown-up table that is youthful……

Overall, the table is definitely the fun and vibrant setting I envisioned thanks in particular to the paisley tablecloth which sets the overall mood.  The tablecloth also dictated the overall color scheme of the table: soft pinks, blues and a healthy dose of white.

The centerpiece is a combination of sod, paper and real flowers.  I used two cake stands for elevation and hid their bases with coffee filter wreaths.  I loved how the wreaths when placed on their sides look like white carnations.  To hide the seams between the two wreaths, I filled them in with paper daisies I made and with real flowers I found in the discount bin at my local grocery store.  The topper is made from sod which I cut to match the shape of the cake stand, a plant pot, a tissue paper pom-pom, another paper flower I made and a yellow daffodil.  I loved how the inclusion of the paper flowers makes the centerpiece less serious and more fun.  I threw in real flowers in the shades of baby & hot pink,  purple and yellow to add color and brightness to what would have been a big white pouf in the center of the table.  Additionally, the sod is a subtle nod to the green artificial grass that tends to line Easter baskets.

The table favors were a play on the centerpiece with the incorporation of sod and flowers, but candy flowers in this case.  The cute flower lollipops and glass vases were a score at the Dollar Store.  When paired with the jelly beans I was able to create a fun, easy and inexpensive way of giving each guest a little something to take home with them.

The place settings are a mix of cool blue plates and linens set off by white chargers and mother of pearl & silver flatware.  I love the dental molding detail on the dinner plates and how well it plays off the scalloped edges of the chargers.  I also am quite enamoured with the color the napkins — they match the blue of the plates perfectly!  The silverware is a mix of pieces from my personal collection including my every day stainless steel forks, seafood forks I inherited from my partner’s parents and my beloved mother of pearl knives.  You may have noticed that there is no stemware on the table and for good reason – this is the youth table and they strongest thing they will be drinking will be lemonade!  However, who wouldn’t enjoy drinking lemonade out of those adorable milk glass goblets.  I paired the goblets with milk glass compote glasses which are holding the jelly beans.

Okay, one last shot before the ladies sit down to their delicious Easter lunch……

So while I love this tablescape and hope you do too!  Why do I hope you love it…well because I am giving it away!  Yup, as a thank you I am hosting my first give away/contest.  Those who enter will be in the running to win a 70-inch Ridgefield Collection paisley tablecloth, 6 Mesa Home Collection plates, 6 Cynthia Rowley napkins and 6 milk glass goblets…..

One lucky winner is basically getting an entire table setting from yours truly!  To enter do one of the following:

1) Subscribe to the blog

2) Fan me on Facebook and leave a comment on the wall

3) Subscribe to my Twitter feed and tweet about the contest using hashtag #CourtneyOutLoud

Each time you do one of the above items, come back and leave a comment.  You can do all three and triple your chances of winning!  The contest closes April 18th with the winner being randomly chosen.  Please remember to include an email address in your comment to I can contact the winner.

Again thank you and here is to a fantastic Easter holiday!  Tomorrow, I will provide a detailed breakdown of the tablescape.

Linking to:

Home Sweet Home on The Charm of Home

Tablescape Thursdays on Between Naps on the Porch

Feathered Nest Fridays on French Country Cottage

Inspiration Fridays on At the Picket Fence

Open House Party on No Minimalist Here

Frugal Friday on The Shabby Nest

Addicts (Not So) Annoynmous on Addicted to Decorating

Seasonal Sundays on The Tablescaper

70 thoughts on “Easter Tablescape & April Give Away

  1. Well you know.
    This is quite fantastic.
    I think i scrolled down like 3 times just to make sure I didn’t miss anything.
    You have mad skills setting a table for the eye.
    I think I am just a bit too lazy to add the umph in mine.
    But this right chere’…
    My friend My friend…
    Amazing!

    Rashon aka Mr. Goodwill Hunting

  2. Amazing tablescape. I am loving the tiered centerpiece with live and paper flower combinations… the varied textures is brilliant. The touch of vintage with the milk glass goblets is great. My little girls would appreciate the jelly beans too.

    Congrats!

    xo,
    cristin

  3. ohmygosh!!! courtney…you top yourself each time! I was instantly smitten with the blue plates and goblets…and those are what you’re giving away?!?!!? you’ve turned me into a tablescape whore, so I’d LOVE to add them to my collection! I love your photography too, and the cool overhead shots of the table are always awesome.

    i’d follow you to the moon, so of course I follow your blog!

  4. This is so beautiful! The centerpiece also reminds me of a derby hat which is perfect for Kentucky! I wanna learn how to make those paper flowers too.

  5. FB fan and subscriber. I don’t do the twit thingy though🙂. LOVE this table! Sod?? You are a genius! Love your blog.

    Kath

  6. Pingback: Easter Table Breakdown & April Give Away Reminder…. « Courtney Out Loud

  7. Just subscribed to your blog – love this! The paper flowers blend so well with the real thing. Thanks for the chance to win =)

  8. Pingback: Elbow Deep « Courtney Out Loud

  9. The tablecloth is amazing! I love the electricity it ignites from the contrasting pale blue napkins. Another winner Courtney! Thank you for the inspiration.

  10. This is truly beautiful, Courtney. I just “liked” you on FB. Thanks for hosting such a wonderful giveaway. And thanks for stopping by my blog!

  11. OMG love this table! The mix of real, silk and paper flowers looks so pretty! And of course, I love your stories as much as your tables! It was so much fun getting to talk with you today. Oh, and I am now a FB fan–not sure why I wasn’t before!

  12. Pingback: I Now Remember…. « Courtney Out Loud

  13. Courtney, your table is so fresh, fun and elegant all at the same time. Having just a few days ago found your blog, I will be following your posts forever! How wonderful it would be to win your giveaway ~ the milk glass goblets remind me of some my dear grandma (DeeDee) used to have and ones which seem to have never surfaced after her passing. All of the elements of the giveaway are so special and as others have noted, could be used for many, many different occasions. So happy I found you ~ a big Texas fan, I am.

  14. Gorgeous tablescape, I love the plates, tablecloth, so fresh and elegant! I love the milk glass goblets. Your centerpiece is fabulous! I want to be your newest follower, but couldn’t find it. Anyway, you’ll have me visiting always, hope you do too, Courtney.
    Have a nice evening.
    FABBY

  15. I came over from Cassie’s blog. Nice to meet you! Your table is beautiful. I’m a fan of robin’s egg blue and those plates are lovely and paired with the milk glass makes a nice combination. You have created a gorgeous and very festive Easter table! I look forward to following your blog.

  16. Pingback: Gardenin Question: What Did I Do Wrong? « Courtney Out Loud

  17. I love it! The table is so refreshing and just plain brilland! I’m new to the blog but am a follower now!!!

  18. Hi Courtney! What a beautiful Spring table and fantastic giveaway! The centerpiece is fabulous. I especially love the tablecloth and plates. Thanks for joining my Open House party and I am delighted to meet you. I am now a follower.
    xo, Sherry

  19. Oh my goodness… this is absolutely GORGEOUS!!! The settings, the centerpiece, the flatware… everything is absolutely beautiful! I love it! Sharing this on FB~ and I’ll ‘like’ your page there- I don’t see a follow button. Thanks so much for sharing at Feathered Nest Friday! Hope you come back and share again soon!🙂

  20. A beautiful tablescape; fresh and cheerful. I love how you mixed the fresh and paper flowers, brilliant!

    I am a new subscriber in reader.

  21. Pingback: Weekend DIY: Yarn Sign « Courtney Out Loud

  22. What a delightful site,I absolutly LOVE your tablescape,I am visiting from BNOTP,please enter me in the giveaway,these are my colors!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  23. This is beautiful Courtney! I love the colors and the candy is perfect for the age of the young lady but, yet a little more grown up. Prefect presentation. Thanks for linking it up!
    Sherry

  24. I am a follower and love your tablescape. I can’t get over how beautiful that paisley tablecloth is and love the plates also. Everything just goes so perfectly together!

  25. Pingback: Quick Reminder….. « Courtney Out Loud

  26. Pingback: And the Winner Is……. « Courtney Out Loud

  27. Very creative take on Easter. I purchased a runner of the same pattern as your tablecloth, but my mind didn’t go to Easter. Wonderful colors.

    Thanks for being a part of Seasonal Sundays.

    – The Tablescaper

  28. This is gorgeous!…love the centerpiece arranged with such beautiful flowers. The plates are great and all the marvelous elements you’ve used to create this feast for the eyes! Love it!
    Have a nice and blessed Easter.
    FABBY

  29. Pingback: Contest Winner Shares Tablescape in Action….. | Courtney Out Loud

Leave a Reply

