Design Board: At-Home Yoga Studio

Namaste.

Last week, I received confirmation from a client that her at-home yoga studio was a go!  I presented her three designs all centered around her desire to have a dedicated room in her rental apartment in which to practice yoga.  She recently completed her yogi training and is fulfilling a lifelong dream of opening a yoga practice.  Through a series of random events, the client was introduced to me and we discussed the room’s functions several weeks ago.  The studio would function as a space where she would counsel clients, perform body work, massage and some floor exercises.  The pieces in the room are going to be subjected to being moved around, massage oil, sweat and incense, so the pieces had to be hardworking as well as pleasing to the eye.  It was also made clear that the mirrored closet doors had to be dealt with since the client “hated them”.

The room in question, while spacious, is in the basement of a rental apartment which  brings some limitations including:

1) No structural or permanent changes can be done…..

2) One small window so no real source of natural light in the space

3) Mirrored closet doors

4) Wall-to-wall Berber carpet

5) 1.5 foot ledge that runs along two of the four walls in the room

I always said I enjoy a challenge and this room does not lack for them.  Each of the above challenges presents me with a design opportunity – some of which I have figured out, while others I am still working on.  In any case, when I pulled together my three concepts for the client’s space, I knew I wanted to keep the colors muted, the design clean and distract visitors from the fact that the studio is in a garden-level apartment.  Oh yeah, one last thing…… it all has to be done in a budget around $1500 for materials since the client is on a strict budget.  So I rolled up my sleeves, put on my thinking cap, drank a lot of tea and came up with three designs that I hoped would but the client in a zen state…..

OPTION 1:  Natural Oasis

All the pieces in this design are serene, calm and natural…wood, glass, clay, iron with touches of modern design.  Contrast comes from the textures of the materials rather than color.  Reclaimed, recycled and new materials share space to create a room that is modern but personal.

OPTION 2: Retro Ethnic Eclectic

The design borrows from everywhere to create a sense that the room  has been designed over time with found objects.  Furniture from the 50s sits alongside modern lighting, dhurrie rugs, African baskets and nature-inspired photographs.  The walls are kept neutral but color is found in almost every accessory used in the room.

OPTION 3: RELAX & THE CITY

White dominates this design.  Slick and decidedly modern, the room is void contrast making visitors focus on singular focal points in the room from the wall art to the flooring.  Accessories are kept clear or white emphasizing their use rather than presence. 

The client eventually chose Option 2 as the winner which was the first design I completed.  I am finding that as I do more design boards for clients, they typically are choosing the design I do first as the ones they like best which makes me happy.  The first design are typically the ones that speak the most clearly to me.  I wonder if this will continue to be the case…..

As I ponder this, do you  have a favorite between the three designs?  Leave a comment or post on my Facebook wall with your feedback!

3 thoughts on “Design Board: At-Home Yoga Studio

  1. I LOVE option 1!!! I wish that your client picked that one so I could see it finished! While I do love the other ones, I think that you designed #1 for me🙂

  2. Pingback: I Now Remember…. « Courtney Out Loud

Leave a Reply

