You Light Up My Life……

If you know who sings the song referenced in the title, you get a shiny new penny.  All you need to do is send me a self-addressed stamped envelope to receive your prize.  I will be waiting…..

But as I wait for the piles of mail to start arriving, I can bath under the soft glow of this kick-booty lamp that I picked up at Urban Ore this week.  In my post yesterday, I mentioned that I passed up all the glorious pieces of furniture I found and actually went for something rather ordinary but special in my opinion.  Matter of fact, I unknowningly showed you all a sneak peek of what I bought….

I saw it sitting sadly on a shelf and it said “Buy me…..please”.  How could I deny such a polite lamp?  More importantly, how could I pass up the awesome wooden base and priced at $18, it was destined to come home with me.

The wooden base is in perfect condition, the brass bottom and top brackets, not so much…..

However, I think that with a little steel wool, the brass will taken on a really nice matte brass finish.  Now I just need to find a lamp shade and I am all set.  Then there is that pesky issue of finding a place for it in my house.   I have a location in mind but it will require some slight moving around of items.  If that doesn’t work there, then I have a client that it potentially could benefit from it.  But then I have to ask, is it odd (and slightly wrong) to give perspective clients my design cast-offs?

5 thoughts on “You Light Up My Life……

  1. Debbie Boone? booyah! (hubs was a professional musician…he’s an encyclopedia. wait, i just aged myself…I mean, he’s google)

    Love that lamp base…try some bar keepers friend on the brass…worked wonders on my fancy pants highboy.

  2. ummm is that your bar cart in the back if so I am super jealous. Super. Jealous.

    BTW that lamp is very Hollywood Regency if it were mine I would paint it Heirloom White and then paint the nooks and cranny gold. I know I’m going to hell for wanting to paint the wood. Just a thought. Also jealous of yo lamp.

    • Yup – that be my cart. I scored it from Restoration Hardware for a steal. However, looking at it reminds me that I need to drink more. 🙂 I love the lamp — normally I am ALL about painting anything that doesn’t move or put up a fight, but this one I think I am gonna keep wood just to see how it looks once cleaned up.

Leave a Reply

