Bedding Evolution

An astute reader pointed out I have changed my master bedroom bedding three times in less than a year.  They are absolutely correct and  here is the pictorial proof:

August 2010

Euro Shams for the Master Bedroom

December 2010

 

March 2011

I don’t deny my “bedding infidelity” and will explain why.  I think bedding can make or break a bedroom.  The wrong bedding can completely throw off a room’s design and send it in the wrong direction.  The first two looks were attempts to introduce color into the space.  In both cases, I was not 100% pleased with the results.  The navy blue didn’t work with the headboard and absorbed alot of light making the bedroom appear dark, not “moody” as I had hoped.  The aqua and brown bedding was okay but was dull in my opinion.  The colors were fun but not did not have  the right saturations to give the room “oomph” and life.  This final bedding from Ikea, while not colorful, I think provides an adundance of light and color to the room even through it is neutral.  I like the varying tonal stripes and think it goes really well with the new fabrics I will be using to finish off the room.

So yes, I am a bedding trollop and will probably commit “adultry” against my current set of linens in a few months.  Or maybe I won’t.  Who knows where my wandering eye will lead me but until some sassy duvet with a thread count made for action and a price point for sin comes along, I think I am content. 

Do you have a “wandering eye” for a particular design accessory in your house?  Do bed linens send you into a tizzy like they for me? Or does a plush bath towel make you quiver?  Perhaps it’s dishes and glassware?  Share what accessories make you commit “design adultery” by leaving a comment or sending me a tweet.  I promise not to judge…….well I won’t judge much!

Have a good one!

3 thoughts on “Bedding Evolution

  1. I have to say, I love the bedding too. I don’t change it very often yet since I don’t really have a “design” in my bedroom yet, but have spent up to three hours in the Macy’s bedding department!

Leave a Reply

