What Are Little Boys Made Of……

I had this fantastic idea that I would open this post using the old nursery rhyme “What Are Little Boys Made Of” which I thought read like this:

What are little boys made of?
Snakes and snails,
And puppy dog tails,
That’s what little boys are made of.

However, after doing a little research I found out that the rhyme actually goes like this:

What are little boys made of?
Snips and snails,
And puppy dog tails,
That’s what little boys are made of.

All these years I have substituted “snake” for “snips” which begs me to ask, what the heck is a “snip”? Second, exactly why is it part of my genetic make-up since girls get sugar, spice and everything nice. I fully think boys got the short end of the stick on this scenario.

So why am I leading you all down this very weird path of nostalgia? Well it was meant to explain my love of this snake print from Dwell Studio:

Dwell Snake Chain in Dove

I LOVE this pattern and am seriously thinking of recovering the chair in the master bedroom with this print. I think it is supremely sophisticated and masculine without being too serious. The picture doesn’t quite do the colors in the fabric justice — it has beautiful tobaccos, ruddy reds and blue on linen.

Yup – this fabric is pretty darn cool even if it meant learning I am part “snip”.

2 thoughts on “What Are Little Boys Made Of……

Leave a Reply

