Casa Sugar House Tour

I have been hinting for the last few weeks about various photo shoots.  Well I can finally show you one of them!  I was lucky enough to have the editors at Casa Sugar ask to photograph my home as part of their site’s House Tour series.  Aside from being profiled on one of my favorite decor and shelter sites, I also had the opportunity to connect with a fantastic photographer by the name of Philipp Striebe who shot the pictures. Philipp is an award-winning photographer and it showed during the day of the shoot as he spent hours working with me to compose the shots.  He made the house look fantastic and I am in his debt!

Preparing the house for the shoot was a marathon session of paint touch-ups, accessory rearranging, plant buying and window cleaning.  The shoot itself was really informative and enlightening as it was a huge learning curve in helping me understand what makes a good picture.  It was also a boot camp in learning how things are styled for shelter magazine shoot.  One of the things that stuck in my head was the phrase “In magazine life, there are no power cords….”   Okay, let me just tell you that trying to hide the multitude of cords in the house was a feat of prop placement, double stick tape and unplugging. I did so much unplugging that we didn’t have a landline for two weeks because I forgot to plug the phone back in!

However, I am really relieved that the pictures turned out so well and more importantly that the Casa Sugar editors liked the final story.  I truly hope this is the first of many shoots as I build my portfolio.  Speaking of portfolio building, I am currently seeking clients in the Bay Area for gratis work.  Simply put, I am looking to work on rooms for gratis minus basic expenses as long as the client pays for materials and outside labor. Yup, you get me for free if you put up the dough to redo your room.  I am most interested in clients with living room, den and family rooms looking for cost-effective and cosmetic changes (sorry, not licensed for demo work).  If you are interested in using my services, send me an email at LifeOutLoudMail@gmail.com.

Now that I have plugged my services, why don’t you scoot over to Casa Sugar to check out the tour!  And be sure to leave a comment if you like what you see……

And on a final note, I want to say thank you to everyone who visits the blog.  Six months ago when I started the blog, it was a way for me to explore a facet of myself that I quite frankly ignored for years.  Through your encouragement, comments and kind words, you have helped me find a voice, pursue a passion and redefine who I am.  It is because of you all that the Casa Sugar story was possible and it is because of your feedback and support that I am moving forward on several other exciting things.  I am now living my life out loud and I thank each and every one of you for it.

9 thoughts on “Casa Sugar House Tour

  1. My friend Brian posted about your work and I am BLOWN AWAY! I love what you’ve done with your condo! It’s too bad I live out in the Boonies West Sac County, probably too far to take advantage of your gratis services. Otherwise I’d hire you to redo my great room in a heartbeat! Will definitely be following your blog from now on. Great work!

  2. I like every detail of your spaces. Not only looks great but also looks very cozy. The color palette in the design is lovely. I’m a big fan of yours. Cheers to you and your bright future to come.

  3. This is so exciting!!! Heading over now!!

    And I’m not in the area, but I’d work with you on an e-consult basis if you’re interested?!?

  4. Hi Courtney! Just want to say thanks again SO much for sharing your home. It’s been a huge hit with the readers, and every time I look at the photos I am more impressed with your home and your design skills. Love it!

Leave a Reply

