I “Wreath” You a Merry Christmas……

Okay, I know the pun in the posting title is lame, but it was the best I could think of after 10 minutes of brainstorming.  If you can come up with a better title, place it in the comments section and I will gladly change it.  However, we are not here to discuss the pros and cons of my literary genius, but to discuss a very important holiday topic – wreaths.

Yes, ladies and gents, if you have noticed one thing on the blog over the last week, it is that  I have become somewhat obsessed with these wonderfully round donuts of holiday cheer.    Somehow The Partner and I went two holiday seasons without really any proper outside decorations.  The first year, I think we were just overwhelmed with the sheer responsibility of owning our first home and ensuring that we didn’t burn it down, we opted out of decorating.  The second year, I patted myself on the back for simply forcing The Partner to buy a tree and ornaments.  As a side note, a 7 foot tree once unbundled has quite a large circumference that makes it nearly impossible to get down a narrow staircase…..heed my warning.

This year we opted not to buy a tree since we would be gone for 10 days to the East Coast to visit our respective families (and partially due to last year’s removal fiasco — see above).  However, I promised myself not to allow the holiday season to pass without some minor attempts of injecting holiday cheer into our home.  Ergo my attempt at the coffee filter wreath. Emboldened by its success, I have created a holiday console that I will be debuting next week as part of Living Livelier’s Blogger Holiday Open House.  But with the inside looking a little more festive, I felt that our front door was lacking in the holiday cheer.  So enter my solution……..

Plain Grapevine Wreath

I took a $3.99 grapevine wreath from Michael’s and created this:

Finished Wreath

Turning the plain grapevine wreath into the above bronzed beauty took about  an hour and $15 worth of total supplies:

Supplies: I found everything at Michael’s Crafts & the Dollar Store…..

Wreath Form: $3.99 from Michael’s

Bronze Floral $6.99 – used a 50% coupon to get it for $3.50

Pine Cones: One assorted bag for $0.99

Gold Leaves: 1 at $1.50 each thanks to the 50% Holiday Sale at Michael’s

Gold Berries: One bunch at $0.99 from Michael’s 50% off Holiday Sale

Gold Glitter: $0 (already owned)

Glue Gun: $0 (already owned)

Floral Wire: $0.99 at Dollar Store

Ribbon: $0 (already owned)

Total Amount: I did a quick price check and if you had to buy all the things I already owned plus the materials I bought, you would hit $15.  If you have to buy a glue gun, then add another $5 for the cheapest one on the market, so your total is now $20 – still not bad in my opinion.

Honestly, this DIY wreath was even easier than the coffee filter wreath.  Here is the  basic run down:

1) Give the wreath a base coat with the bronze spray paint.  I used the floral spray paint because it dries extremely quickly, sprays in a very fine mist and was the perfect shade of bronze I was looking for.

Surprisingly the shade of spray paint sorta matches my skin tone....go figure!

2) As the wreath is drying, gather your materials you will use to decorate the wreath.  I used gold leaves and berries from Michael’s floral department as well as some pinecones from the Dollar Store.  I sprayed those bronze too as well and sprinkled them with a bit of gold glitter I had left over from a past art project.

Gold Berries....

Pine cone (sans spray paint and glitter)

Gold Leaves

3) Now with everything painted, I laid the wreath on the ground and mapped out where I wanted the decorations to go.  I played with the configuration until I found something I liked.  However, I didn’t attach the pieces to the wreath.  I have found that looking at something from above is very different from looking at the same thing straight on.  I find it better to arrange items like on the same plane that you will be looking at them from – aka if it’s gonna hang vertically, then decorate it vertically.  So I took a quick snapshot with my iPhone to confirm placement and to use as a reference.

Decorations placed on wreath....

4) I found a length of ribbon from my stash and spray painted it to match the wreath.  Be sure to spray both sides since both sides will show when you loop the ribbon around.  And yes, I said I spray painted the ribbon — why pay money for ribbon to match when you can make your own for  pennies.  Find a piece of grosgrain ribbon that is the proper length (about 12 inches), lay flat and lightly dust with spray paint.  Since the floral paint is so light, it takes several swipes to get even coverage. Once dried, I tied the ribbon to the top of the wreath and attached it to a suction hook on the door.  If you wanted to make a pretty bow to hide the hook, go for it, but the hook didn’t bother me since it’s clear so I left it alone.  And besides, I am a horrible bow maker…..

Ribbon and hook for wreath

5) At this point, I started attaching the decorations to the wreath using the iPhone snapshot as a guide….

Attaching berries to the pinecone clusters using hot glue.....

6) As I said, I used decorations from the floral department and for a reason…..everything comes with wires or hooks attached.  I simply snipped items off  and used the existing wires to weave through the grapevines.  A few dabs of hot glue to hold things in place and it was pretty much done.  Once the hot glue dried, I took the wreath down and gave everything one final misting of bronze spray paint.

Completed Wreath.....

In less than an hour, I had an awesome wreath I loved. I told you this project was easy peasy!  So get cracking on making your own grapevine wreath because I am dying to see what all you talented folks are doing to decorate your home for the holidays!

7 thoughts on “I “Wreath” You a Merry Christmas……

  1. You’re spraying ribbon and I’m spraying pumpkins…I think we’ve earned the ‘repurpose’ award for the day. I like it…very natural and earthy, Dude.😉

    (I do remember thinking in one of your earlier posts that you had some pretty manly hands…but tried not to form a visual.)

  2. Okay, now that I’ve stopped thinking of worse titles than yours, I have to say I’m very impressed with how it turned out. Love the bronzing! Its so pretty I’m almost inspired to attempt a cousin in silver so I could avoid unpacking the five million moving boxes left to be emptied.

  3. Pingback: Fabulous Felt Wreath (project) « discoverfabulous

  4. Pingback: Thanksgiving Table Breakdown | Courtney Out Loud

Leave a Reply

