Napkins: Ikat for the Holidays

I am by no means a design expert, but I think there are a core set of patterns and prints that would be considered universal.  Toile, plaid, floral – these are the classic standards that seem always be woven into a home.  However, I think there are a new set of prints that could be called “modern classics” including imperial trellis, chevron and my personal favorite ikat.

I think ikat is one of those patterns that is timeless, effortless chic and can be used in some many different ways in a home.  I am currently having a tablecloth and runner  made from this ikat fabric that I picked up on Fabric.com for $5.95 a yard!.

 

Redding Ikat Gold

However, like Mae West said “Too much of a good thing can be wonderful,” so I am going into a bit of ikat overload for my holiday tables.  I am currently in a deep love affair with these ikat napkins from Coldwater Creek.  They are currently on sale for $13.95 for a set of four.

I think these napkins are PERFECT for a holiday table setting.  I love the two different greens and the band of brown.  I can totally see these on a table with a frette patterned tablecloth, bone china and a centerpiece using poinsettias to play up the holiday scheme.

I am also partial to this set of ikat napkins from Pomegranate.  I think the warm ochre color is the perfect complement to a table set with Tiffany blue and gray plates.   Tuck these napkins into a set of vintage opaline blue goblets (my other obsession as of late) and you have the makings for a beautiful and stunning tablescape.  These napkins are currently on sale for $28.99 for a set of four.

My orders for both sets of napkins are already in and here is hoping that at least one set gets to me before Thanksgiving!  I am busily planning my tablescape for dinner and think I have everything down.  So what is your table going to be for the holidays?  I would love to share pictures of your holiday tablescapes, so send me a copy at lifeoutloudmail@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

