One Out of Three. Vote & Tell Me……

So now that money has officially stopped flowing like water and the need for a budget has emerged, my house decorating has been severely cramped.  Well it has never been like I spent all willy nilly on stuff anyway for the house, but I have always believed that every room needs to have a POP!  The WOW!  The OHH! (I am running out of 3 letter words to place exclamation points behind). 

So far, I have been able to do that with paint and a little elbow grease.  However, the remaining rooms in the house, need something else aside from paint.  They require a statement piece.  A little something tangible that says “Hello” when you enter the room and beckons you to touch it.  A fellow design addict I use to work with described those pieces in her home as the “sluts” — the piece that wants all the attention and will do anything to get it.  While I have a hard time imaging a “slutty rug”, I do think she was on to something when she said that it needs to be a piece that wants all the attention.  I am all about the use of bold colors, patterns and textures.  I love an item that seeks attention…I think it’s why I love silver so much.  It’s shiny and reflective and just wants to be examined and touched. 

But I am going to break away from my paint and silver addictions.  Here are my three items in the running to be bought. 

 

Madeline Weinrib Rugs 

Beautifully crafted and woven, Madeline Weinrib rugs have swept the design industry as of late.  Her use of classic patterns but with modern colors and placement have made her a favorite of designers and design addicts alike.  I love this chevron rug and can totally see it under my glass dining table.  It would be the POP that the kitchen dining room needs. 

Chevron...we love thee....

Photo Credit: Madeline Weinrib 

 

Jonathan Adler 

While a white piece of pottery is not necessarily a “wow factor”, you all know that I have a thing for this man and his designs.  This oversized unglazed apothecary jar would be PERFECT in the music room’s shelf and would anchor what is right now a rather bland assortment of decorative pieces.  

It's all LOVE for these pottery pieces!

 Photo Credit: Jonathan Adler 

 

Ballard Design 

Ballard Design is like this hidden treasure trove of a mail order business.  I did not discover them until I started this blog but oh boy do I love them.  They have classic/traditional pieces with modern finishes and fabrics that could be integrated perfectly into any home.  I love the upholstered x-bench.  I have dreams about this piece of furniture.  I envision two of these at the foot of my bed upholstered in a delicious butterscotch velvet or mohair.  I am drooling over them…..won’t someone buy these for me! 

X marks the spot!

Photo Credit: Ballard Design 

 So America …it’s up to you.  Which one of these beauties should find a loving home with me? 

One thought on “One Out of Three. Vote & Tell Me……

Leave a Reply

