Pillows Galore

A few weeks ago,  I went on an epic search to find an affordable seamstress.  Through no fault of her own, Nancy “The Sewing Goddess” was not able to sew the pillows I envisioned for the house.  I placed an ad on Craigslist, hoping for the best and got the worst on many different levels.  The responses (and lack thereof) was a really unique snapshot into the type of crazy that stalks Craigslist ads.

However, one of the responses stood out from rest.  Ana’s response was tactful, to the point and she listed her experience rather than asking how much she could get for the project.  After a quick email exchange, we met at my house and spent nearly two hours talking about design and sewing.  It was like we were lost friends catching up over coffee.  The face-to-face meeting sealed the deal for me and I gave Ana my business.

A week later, she had 90% of the project done and dropped off the first batch of pillow covers and drapes.  I knew she was the real deal cause she showed me the project and then TOOK BACK some of the covers cause she wanted to redo them to ensure that they were perfect after she saw some things she didn’t like.  That really impressed me so much that I gave her an additional request for pillows for the bedrooms. 

She swung by today to drop off the remainder of the original project plus the new pillows I asked her to sew.  I could not be more pleased with the work or the speedy turn around.

Pillows Ana sewed for the living room....

The paisley pillow, she actually cut the fabric in half and pieced it together to mimic the pattern I have on an existing pillow.  The canvas pillows were started by Nancy and Ana was able to finish them with no difference between them.

Pillows for the Music Room.....

So here is a sneak peek at the awesomeness to come with the Music Room Reveal.  However, Ana really showed her stuff on the blue pillows in the back.  I loved the design on the pillows with the grosgrain ribbon.  And if you look closely, you can see a little pillow that harks back to The Grande Dame.  Overall, I love the sizes, fabrics and texture of the pillows and think they will look great throughout the room.

Cutie Patootie Bolster Pillow for Guest Room

Ana took an existing pillow case I found at Crate and Barrel for $3 and made two bolster pillows for me.  They finish off the guest  bed perfectly!

Euro Shams for the Master Bedroom

Ribbon detail on the shams

I found a sheet set at TJ Maxx for the master bedroom and somehow when making the bed (for the first time) with the new set, I ripped the fitted sheet.  Ana was able to take what was left of the sheet and created two adorable Euro shams for the bed.  She did a really nice job with ribbon detailing on the edges very similar to what Frette does on their shams.

Adorable Velvet Bolster Pillow for Master Bedroom Chair

View of velvet cording detail...

And for the final pillow, you may recognize the fabric from the bedroom ottoman project I did recently.  Ana took the excess fabric and created this adorable bolster pillow with velvet cording.  I l-o-v-e the cording detail which was a surprise to me since it was not something we discussed.

Overall, I got 15 pillows and four drapery panels for a hair over $200.  You can’t buy pre-made pillows or drapes for that cheap!  Ana is my hidden gem but I hope you guys and gals definitely contact her for your sewing needs (see contact information below).   If you do contact her, tell her I say hello.   I know I will be calling her shortly with my holiday wish list– I think I need 2 or 3 tablecloths, runners and maybe a custom Christmas tree skirt sewn.

Ana Zucconi

Seamstress

Ana.Zucconi@sbcglobal.net

6 thoughts on “Pillows Galore

  1. Ive been lurking for the last few weeks…(You were feeling watchd, werent you??? lol)

    I love your style and I truly look forward to your posts!

  2. Hi! You have no idea how much work I did to find your blog again just to tell you…

    The fabric you used for your chair re-do is used int he online magazine “Nesting Newbies”, Volume 3. I always love seeing things I have done or have purchased in “print”..But maybe Im just weird. Chances are pretty good that Im just weird, lol!

    Anyway, enjoy!
    http://nestingnewbies.com

    Scroll down to the magazine, volume 3.

      • But I dont know your FB account! lol..I subscribe to your blog, but I dont have it saved as a favorite yet. So, I only read your posts through the email it sends to me, and when Im done, I delete. So, I had to go to the other blog and scroll through to get to the post where they linked to you!

        Just saying that I went through it to tell you about the chair fabric! I thought it was so cool!

Leave a Reply

