Guest Room Reveal

It’s done.  

I say this so matter of factly because I am tired.  I don’t think any other room has drained me like the guest room redesign has done.  I think part of it was due to the fact that it was sad to see “J” leave.  He was with us from the first day in the house, so it was a bit like cleaning up after a loved one has passed.  The other part was because I am by myself, so all the little things that tend to go so quickly became drawn out projects.  For example, have you ever tried to put a rug (with a rug mat) under a bed in a small room?  It isn’t fun. 

But as I said, the guest room is done and for the most part I am quite happy with the transformation.  So to give you a little background on the parameters of the redesign.  I gave myself $200-$250 total to redesign this room, which meant that much in the room regarding furniture had to be recycled from existing rooms, our storage space, garage or picked up for cheap.  Well I blew the majority of the budget on paint and bedding, but I think it was worth it now that I look at the pictures.  The bedding really sets the tone and color scheme for the room, while the paint really warms up the space creating the warm environment that I envisioned for my guests.  However, truth be told, I am not crazy about the rugs, but they will do until funds are available to replace them.

So now for the big reveal…..you can see before pictures here:

Painting is done...thank goodness!

Did I mention that I switched paint colors?  After looking at Dutch Boy Trenchcoat on the wall, it looked orange so I switched gears and went with a color by Dutch Boy called Basketweave.  It has a hint of green in it that plays well with the bedding.  However, between the taping, cutting in, multiple coats and creating faux crown molding, it took me over 8 hours to complete the room.  I was up until 4:45 am — crazy but I hate carrying paint projects into multiple days. 

So if you look closely at the ceiling line, I created faux crown molding by simply using the width of the paint tape running a strip all the way around the top.  It’s a trick I used in our old apartment due to it had popcorn ceilings (yuck!) but in this case, I wanted to camouflage the slightly uneven ceiling first and foremost.  Second, I really love the look of crown molding, but with a super modern house, I think crown molding can look a bit too traditional.  But when done using paint, I think it gives crown molding a modern twist. 

With painting completed, I went about pulling in the furniture and accessories to create the perfect (in my own humble opinion) guest bedroom. 

Sitting Area for guests

Artwork on entry wall

Bed side table/shelf filled with books

Guest Bed

Guest Bed

So here is the room breakdown: 

Paint: Orchard Hardware (Dutch Boy) – $$20 

Chair: Ikea – already owned 

Bureau: Ikea – already owned 

Rugs: Ikea – already owned 

Bed Frame/Headboard: West Elm – already owned 

Bedding: Crate and Barrel – $150 (splurge) 

Artwork: Unknown (auction purchase) – $35 

New frame for Artwork: $35 

Lamp: Bed Bath and Beyond – already owned 

Night Stand: Hold Everything – already owned 

Vases/Boxes: Pier One – already owned 

Plant: Repurposed from master bathroom 

Total: $240 * 

Not too shabby if I do say so myself. 

Up next, the music room.  Not looking forward to it but excited to see the results.

*It was pointed out to me that I did not include the $70 that I spent on a new down comforter, bringing the total up to $310.  If I was to remove the new frame for the artwork and add in the rebate for the paint then I am only $30 over my original $250 budget.  Oh well, I give back my “thirfty scout badge” for the time being.

8 thoughts on “Guest Room Reveal

  1. Pingback: Green Trumps Blue: Hatred of Blue Painter’s Tape « Living Life Out Loud

  2. Pingback: Music Room Reveal « Living Life Out Loud

  3. Pingback: My Selfish Act: New Chair For Guest Room…… | Courtney Out Loud

  4. Pingback: Motivational Monday: Entertaining ….. | Courtney Out Loud

Leave a Reply

