Goodbye Roomie

Two years ago, the partner and I were looking for a new house.  Incidently, a friend of ours was looking for a new apartment.  It seemed like the perfect idea to combine the two searches, so that is what we did.  We were able to save a bit on our mortgage and provide a friend with a safe place to stay.

I didn’t realize that when “J” moved in, I would be gaining a brother, a therapist and a best friend.  He leaves today for new adventures on the East Coast.  He was recently accepted into the Urban Studies program at Harvard (I hate that he is smart and cute to boot).  I am excited for him in so many ways since this is a culmination of over a year’s worth of effort including some rejections on the very beginning.  However, I like to think that the rejections set him up for ultimate success.

However, before he starts his new life in Cambridge next month, he is going to be spending three weeks of glorious fun here:

Via la Paris!

 

Paris in the summer.  Some find it hot and humid.  I think it will be wonderful.  I am imagining balmy nights watching the city lights, sipping wine, flea markets and day excursions in to the country side.  I am officially jealous.

Last night, as we popped a bottle of champagne to celebrate his new life, “J” said “Boy, now I have to depend on my REAL family for support.”  The sentiment is so true that over the two years we have lived together, we became family.  So goodbye “J” …. my friend, my brother and my partner in crime.  I love you and am going to miss you. 

Photo Credit: http://www.zwcadclub.com

2 thoughts on “Goodbye Roomie

  1. Pingback: Guest Room Makeover: Before Pictures « Living Life Out Loud

Leave a Reply

