Thinking Out Loud: Prostate Exams

“Courtney, please remove your clothing and your undergarments.  When you are finished, please kneel on the exam table so I can examine your prostate.”

And with that, my doctor put on a pair of latex gloves, applied a liberal amount of lubrication and proceeded to spend several long minutes (it seemed like hours) examining my prostate. 

Latex Gloves

"Breathe deeply and relax." Easy for him to say......

Photo courtesy of:   ImperialRestoration.com

 

Since I had nothing else to do, I began to ponder why exactly the Culinary Institute needs me to have a full medical review that includes a prostate exam?  While I am still a novice in many things culinary, I have yet to cook with anything below my waist.  Honestly, is culinary school worth having a man who clearly took lessons in beside manner from the Marque de Sade probe me as I lay naked staring at an inspirational poster of a kitten hanging from a tree stating “Hang In There”.  In many ways, the poster’s saying was quite appropriate for the feelings I was having ; I felt raw, naked (literally) and wanted to run away….but I hung in there.

Well until they asked for a urine sample, but that is a post for another day.  I say this, cause did you know there was a five step protocol for peeing into a dixie cup?  Really?  FIVE!

CIA, you better be something awesome if I am going through this……

7 thoughts on “Thinking Out Loud: Prostate Exams

      • any or all… he writes one about his time at CIA, also the restaurant biz, also the “master’s” exam at CIA where chefs can earn some super-certificate by going through this grueling program (most don’t make it or pass). he’s buddies w/ anthony bourdain and has written cookbooks for Keller.

  1. No prostate exam here, but I had to have a physical (Look left and *cough*!) and drug test for my winery internship. Good times.

Leave a Reply

