Loving Out Loud: RetailMeNot.com & Ebates.com

So it is no secret.  I love to shop.  I mean, REALLY like to shop.  Some would say it borders on a sickness.  I like to think that if you are going to really be good at a particular thing, you should do it often and with your full heart.  That is how I feel about shopping.  If shopping was an Olympic event, I could probably represent the US in the 4×4 shopping relay.  I imagine the commentary would go something like t his:

“Good Evening and welcome to the Summer Olympics in beautiful [insert city name].  We are coming to you live from the 4×4 men’s mall shopping relay event.  Tonight’s lineup will sure be a battle between two super power teams, the US and Japan.  The US is led by shopping all-star Courtney Lake who recently took the gold in the single shoe shopping and accessory events and the silver in the shopping biathlon. “

In my head, the race would be intense with a  near wipeout in the food court steps away from an Auntie Anne’s Pretzel.  There would be a  victorious come from behind win by Team USA with me in the anchor leg to win the gold from our arch-rival, North Korea.  (Yes, my imagination is WAY too active). 

Gold Medal

I WON! I WON!

In any case, I really do like shopping.  But like every good American watching their income, I LOVE a deal, which leads me to my current “Loving Out Loud” segment.  Whenever, I am going to hit up a store (online or physical) to purchase an item, I check out RetailMeNot.com and Ebates.com.

All of my friends have heard me spout about the virtue of both sites, in particular that RetailMeNot is an online forum for those serious deal hunters to share online and print coupons for thousands of different stores and vendors.  All those “best customer” coupons and free shipping codes we all desperately seek out in vain online can be found at RetailMeNot.com.  Personally, I hate it when the shipping charge is more than the item I bought, so I always turn to RetailMeNot.com to find free or reduced shipping (ergo giving me more cash to spend on other more fun stuff).

While not as new, Ebates.com, is a shopping portal that gives its users money back.  Yuppers, you GET money by going through Ebates.com to thousands of brand name and small online vendors.  The premise is easy:  sign-up for their free membership and every time you want to conduct an online purchase, find the vendor on their portal and click through.  Depending on the vendor, you can get as much as 25% of you total spend BACK.  Mind you 25% is a HUGE amount and not all vendors offer such heady deals.  Additionally, there are some big name online stores that do not participate in the program. 

I am always excited to get something free for basically doing what I had planned anyway.  Go capitalism!!

Note:  I am not an employee or have been paid by any of the LovingOutLoud vendors, retailers or sites.  These are expressly my opinion and not a paid endorsement.

Graphic courtesyof:  www.english-blogs.com

3 thoughts on “Loving Out Loud: RetailMeNot.com & Ebates.com

  1. Courtney,

    I love it. I can totally picture you and the Shopping Olympics!!! I was laughing as I pictured you running.

    Thanks for the info on Ebates and RetailMeNot…I’m definitely going to check them out.

  2. thanks for the insider’s scoop on good shopping sites. regarding your speed racing, watch out, japan’s empress has got a mean pair of burberry flats!

Leave a Reply

