Recipe: Quick Quinoa Bowl …..

I love Summer holidays, in particular the Fourth of July.  The thing that I loved most were the cook-outs and barbecues that would gather all my friends and family.  What I didn’t love was a fridge jammed packed with tupperware that would never be eaten.  Truth is, my family was (and still is) not one to really eat leftovers.  I don’t know why but trying to get them to eat leftovers is like trying to get Amanda Bynes not to take selfies on Instagram — in a word difficult.  This year, I am determined not to be stuck with piles of food that will go to waste, so I created this simple recipe that I am calling the Quick Quinoa Bowl.  It uses all the items we typically have leftover after the 4th; veggies kebabs, roast/bbq chicken and garnish/salad greens and puts them over a bed of quinoa.  It’s delicious, healthy, quick and best of all, my family will be none the wiser that they are consuming leftovers….wins all the way around in my book…….

Quick Quinoa Bowl

Ingredients

-       1 cup quinoa

-       2 cups chicken broth or water

-       1 cup cooked chicken, shredded or chopped

-       2 cups roasted vegetables* (leftover kebabs are great)

-       ½ cup baby spinach

-       3 tablespoons flat leaf parsley, chopped

-       ¼ cup feta cheese, optional

Directions

- Place quinoa in fine mesh strainer & rinse thoroughly before cooking to remove any residue.

- If preferred, toast quinoa in dry skillet prior to cooking to bring out the grain’s natural nutty flavor.

- If not roasting, combine quinoa and chicken stock/water in large pot and bring to a boil.  Reduce heat, cover with lid and simmer for about 15 minutes or until all liquid has been absorbed.

- Divide spinach among bowls and spoon quinoa over.  The heat of the quinoa will wilt the spinach.

- Place roasted vegetables and chicken over quinoa, sprinkle with feta and garnish with parsley.

Notes:

* If you are not using leftover vegetables, then I suggest the following mix:  2 squash prepared, 2 carrots, 1 red bell pepper, 2 white onions and 5 stalks of asparagus.   Cut vegetables into 1” pieces and place onto large baking sheet.  Coat with olive oil, salt, pepper and 1 teaspoon of dried oregano.  Bake at 450 degrees until vegetables are tender, approximately 20 minutes.

Check me out on PinterestFacebookTwitter and Insta.gram for more musings on design, food and just plain randomness.  You can also find me at my online shop for Joy & Revelry.

Leave a Reply

